Metal it is.........

in Music3 years ago

It's time for some heavy metal tonight. It's quite a step from Abba to metal. But that's the beauty of music, if it suits you and you like it, then it's good right?

I am a big fan of the original line-up of Sepultura, I saw the performance at PinkPop fesitval in 1996 and really thought it was great. The Brazilian influences with the great guitar riffs and almost percussive drums. For a long time I had the song Roots on my list for my funeral .... I am now a bit older and I realize that I cannot do that to my relatives.


Source

Another band I had never heard of was Avenged Sevenfold, until I saw them on PinkPop in 2014 .... What a musical violence ..... What a great band, you just can't stand still with this music .... So much energy, beautiful harmonies in vocals ...


Source
Kiss always says they are the hardest band in the world, I doubt that. When we were at the Classic Arrows Rock festival Mötorhead, 3 men played but they played hard. Bass, drums and guitar ... That's all they need to have a great party. Lemmy is no longer with us, but that was an icon (ok with some weird hobbies) but definitely a cult hero. There is a documentary by Lemmy where they follow him alongside his tour life. He simply lived in Los Angeles with his son, went to the pub, bought CDs ... Not really the star as he was seen on stage and in the metal world. Special to see, highly recommended.


Source

I have also been a big fan of Dreamtheater for years. A prog rock band. I must honestly admit that the later work no longer fascinates me as much, no longer as innovative as it used to be. She also used to play covers of other bands on a regular basis. This song from Metallica (Damage inc) is quite a tricky song, and when you see the guys from Dreamtheater playing, with such ease .. Just brilliant.


Source

My brother and I are going to watch a live stream together this weekend of Geoff Tate, the former Queensrche singer. We just made a mistake in the time. It is our time, 5 o'clock in the morning. Anyway, we also get out of bed on time :). It will just be a cup of coffee instead of a beer. Queensrÿche is a great band, and when Geoff was still a singer, it was so characteristic…. Amazing music.


Source

An absolute hero and icon in Metal is Ronnie James Dio, the inventor of the horns. Did you know Gene Simmons ever tried to get a patent on the horns. Sometimes you can go too far ... Holy Diver, an iconic song ..... Often covered but never equaled ...


Source

One of the hardest concerts I have been to must have been Testament, in the Effenaar in Eindhoven. Together with my brother (we often visit concerts together as you can read haha). when we entered we saw people walking with earplugs and thought "they are crazy", but once Testament started I immediately understood why, the PA was so terribly loud, it was almost impossible to listen. We quickly moved to the back of the hall, then it was still a bit bearable .. But what a great band live.


Source

Metallica cannot be missing in the list, but the old Metallica is. Don't get me wrong, I still love metallica now, only the drummer has to retire. he can't do it anymore. Anyway, that's my opinion :) My first album was Master of Puppets, I remember that with music lessons at school we were allowed to bring a cassette tape, I took Metallica. The rest of the class didn't think it was such a good idea :)


Souce

My brother, a common thread in my rock hobby, once gave me a Yngwie Malmsteen CD. An amazing guitarist from Sweden. A mix of classical and metal, his style is unique .... He is a bit crazy of himself, but if you can play like that, that's okay?


Source

Have a great metalisk weekend !!

Peter

Sort:  

Great choices. A bit of metal is a great way to start the weekend.

!BEER

And that it is.... :) cheers !BEER


Hey @steevc, here is a little bit of BEER from @verhp11 for you. Enjoy it!

Learn how to earn FREE BEER each day by staking your BEER.

"Metal it is........."

I said that with a yoda voice in my head. Was that correct?

Great selection there. How good is Dio's voice, but how creepy does he look eh?

Never been a fan of motorhead, but for some reason I really enjoyed that clip...

Nice clip isn't it :) Dio is the king of metal in my honest opinion.. But indeed, he can look creepy :)

Nice to see some metal on here... my favorite genre! That is awesome that you got to see Sepultura in their original format. "Arise" was one of the first CD's I ever had and I probably played that CD until it died. They've gone through a lot of changes in the band over the years and I am not sure about this but i think only the original bass player remains.

Roots is one of those songs that I could listen to on repeat and when I work out it is a massive motivator for me.

I remember many years ago back in the 90's when the rest of the world was giving out Grammies for pop bands like Brittney Spears and what not, Brazil gave Sepultura the "best song" award to Sepultura for "Orgazmatron" and at that point in my life I was thinking Brazil must be the coolest country in the world.

The whole album "roots" is just one of the best albums ever made. Sepultura and the cavalera brothers meant a lot for Brasil, they brought the brazilian culture combined with world-wide adopted music together... Just love it !!! Just like Max'es Soulfly, just as awesome... I got the Soulfly logo tattooed om my back ;)

Have a great day and thanks !!


Hey @verhp11, here is a little bit of BEER from @steevc for you. Enjoy it!

Learn how to earn FREE BEER each day by staking your BEER.