Throwback sunday

in Music3 years ago

On this lazy sunday I am wondering around music land, just to listen to some good songs. Often I am reliving some good songs of the past which I have played or listened often. Some common, some not so common :)


Source

T'pau had a massive hit with the song "China in your hand", it was a poppy song with (the chorus) a rocky edge. But most of all the voice of Carol Decker was just awesome. this recording of 2019 is still awesome. I love her voice.


Source
Jack Savoretti - Catapult . This isn't a very old song but with his voice it surely could have been. A bit of Joe cocker, the looks of John Mayer.... This song, you should put the volume on "Insane" .. shivers all over... I just love this song and his voice.


Source
All the kings, by the editors.... Talking about a song with a drive..... I do think they are superb live. This clip was taken at "Best kept secret" a festival in the Netherlands. Unfortunatly I have never seen them live myself. But I'll guess it's just awesome.


Source
Therapy? , Diane. I always thought this was a very dark song... and it is.. The musical arrangement is just bizar. Classical influence, confronting lyrics... It makes the song (for me) a classic one.... One which will I love for ever.... It's one of my favorites for sure...


Source
This song, Burning heart by Moonkings, is originally a song of Van Den Berg. The dutch pride in rock music. adriaan van den Berg was the proud founder of Van Den Berg. Adriaan is a gifted guitarist who has played in many big bands where Whitesnake was his most succesfull band. The song Burning heart was a worldwide hit for his own band. He got in a big fight with his former bandmembers but had won the trials... and that's good because he is the crearive mastermind behind all the great stuff he has made. Listen to this song, it's timeless....


Source
Another great dutch band, Kane. The song "Damn those eyes" was a massive hit in the Netherlands. Kane was all about the guitarist Dennis and singer Dinand. They were the center of the band. The changed a lot of times with the other musicians. Not really my thing with a band, but musically they were just awesome. I love the energy of this song a lot, the drums and the great basslines are just "mind blowing" ....


Source
The Bee Gees... What's to tell about them besides they meant a lot for modern music and they are just awesome. I remember buying the DVD "One night only". A great show where they played all their hits.


Source
This song was played in the year I wass born... isn't that funny. Melanie with beautiful people. Her voice goes trough everything..... It's so beautiful.... Imagine only her voice and guitar... there wasn't any more she needed to give people comfort, happiness....

I have listened a lot more, but won't bother you all with it :)

Have a great sunday !!

Peter