You can inherit music

in Music3 years ago

I owe my broad musical taste to my father. I can still remember very well that on Sundays my father was always alone downstairs early in the morning. He always put on a record and enjoyed 'his' music. It was mainly symphonic what he listened to, but other genres as well.

I sometimes talk about it with my brother, I no longer visit my parents (due to circumstances), at least father ... My mother passed away a few years ago.

I am talking to my brother about music, the music we grew up with and how much influence that has had on our contemporary music taste and broad orientation ..... Still nice that we got that from home.

A song he often put on when there were visitors, was "Take five" by Dave Brubeck. Then he always played 'Air saxophone', as if he made the music himself ... Always success with the visitors.


Source

My mother was not really (in my eyes) a music lover like my father. She especially liked German and Dutch music. Also fine of course, but not for me. One song they did have in common was a song by Ellen Foley, We belong to the night ...... I still think it's a beautiful song .... Brings back memories.


Source

My father used to have mega speakers in the living room. These were handmade by a good friend of the family, and those things sounded crazy. Massive bass, great mids, and the tweeters were subtle. I often drove the neighbors crazy when my parents weren't home :)

From his hobby my father managed a band from Utrecht, Arkus, for a long time. A symphonic rock band with its own sound. My brother and I often went to rehearsals, always a big party and a lot of noise lol ... They finally recorded 2 albums, independently, and were quite successful in the west of the Netherlands. I still listen to them quite often, nostalgia and childhood memories ... The music is, even in the present time, wonderfully composed.


Source

One of the very nice memories was a surprise that I had arranged with my brother. My father loved Camel, a British sympho band. Weirdly good musicians with great songs. I had heard that they would perform in Amsterdam, so I agreed with my brother that we would go there with our father but that it would be a surprise to him. So we didn't tell him anything and drove to Amsterdam together, once arrived at the concert hall he saw it ... His face said everything ...

The great thing was, when she played the song drafted, he stood quietly against a pillar enjoying the music, the band and the environment ..... he was just crying .... Then you also know immediately where I got it. credo got "Music is magic, music is emotion" :)


Source

I wish you a very nice evening, and keep believing in music .... It heals, brings pleasure, brings support ... helps you remember ....

Peter

Sort:  

What a really awesome memory! It sounds like it was probably about the best gift he had ever been given! I love Dave Brubeck. Great stuff! Take Five is such an iconic song. My love of all music can probably be attributed to my father as well. We also had a really awesome set of homemade speakers. I think he still has them. Now he also has some other really large ones inside the house. He often drives my mom crazy with them!

Awesome isn't it. The influence of our parents in many way's. And some things you do totally different. What a coincidence about the speakers :) The ultimate way to listen to some good music...

Yes, indeed!

Logo-comments2.pngYour post was reblogged by us and received a (still) small vote from the Music community on Hive.

Do you want to get involved? Do you want to support music and this project? Follow us to keep you updated and read our Introduction post!