You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Finger Picking guitar progress video #2

in Music3 years ago

Had you ever played the guitar before? I play many instruments but for any reason I never progressed much at guitar, so I welcome all resources you find to practise ;-) I still can't do a proper F with the fret and all after this long. Now my pretty guitar has a slit in the neck and hurts my thumb :/ but I still play it. That was simple and pretty (and very even)

Sort:  

My boyfriend has a few guitars that I have fiddled around with (mostly just strumming) but I found them way too big. This one is a 3/4 and is much more comfortable. I also have a small ukelele which I never got too good at tbh lol,

I guess I could say this is the first time I have tried to do a really regimented practice on an instrument! I mostly used youtube tutorials, if you want to learn fingerstyle is probably best to just practice the picking hand all alone until you get the hang of some patterns then add chords in once you get the groove going.

This video for example shows some fun patterns to practice:

Don't get me started on the F barre LOL, I can do it but I have a hard time making all the strings ring out clearly, it feels so awkward but I guess it will come with time. You already have a great musical ability so I'm sure you can pick it up in no time. I often leave the guitar near my desk so every once in a while I will pick it up for five minutes here and there and it's kept me fairly consistent :)

Thanks for the tip... I'll definitely will try to make some exercises, my guitar is so pretty it was my dream guitar and it was gifted to me by one of my rats (really, no joke, that would make an interesting post about how one of my rats won my guitar and was my dream guitar LOL) but I find my hand gets achy if I try to press the entire fret, I remember the position but it usually sounds uneven and some strings wonky hahah :) I layer some of guitar in my music but it's never like something that stands out. My problem is that I have the harp there, and the dulcimer, and the kantele, and the piano... it's difficult to split time among them all LOL XD I play all them a little XD hahah

yeah I know exactly what you mean, I have a million projects I want to do so forcing myself to make time is tricky!

And it is December ... December...? When did it happen? Lol but ready to let 2021 go lol