dark night of the soul - philip wesley

in Classical Music3 years ago (edited)

Dark Night” is my meditation song. I came across it when looters and rioters were doing their rounds in Los Angeles. When I’m especially feeling a shadow upon me, I play this piece over and over. JNET in loop, warding away bad juju with my piano.

I made some quarantine playing videos and filming them is harder than playing them. My mom asked why I only film my hands. It’s a cruel world and people are wacky. I don’t need some meanie picking on my hairstyle, what outfit I chose, and be fodder for a fool.

For Dark Night the room is glaringly bright. I stationed a large mirror to cast a beam on my keyboard so that it can appear that I only capture light under my hands. It was the kind of bright light that can give you a headache or seizure. I only had an hour window to take advantage of the sunlight to land on my piano the way I wanted.

The prisms were made possible by the privacy plastic I was raving about several posts ago. Rainbows casting about my home every day makes lockdown less of a misery. At the current state of things, California plans to stay in lockdown at least for another year.

I’ve watched my neighbors and friends move and Studio City turn into a ghost town.

But I’m alive and kicking and have several unwritten posts in my brain. It’s good to be back. I hope to return to posting at least once if not twice a week.

Hello from OUTSIDE of Spaceship JNET.
After 10 months of solitude, I came to SD for Christmas.

JNET

Sort:  

Hours ago, just after I got out of bed, got myself a cup of coffee, this was the first music share in our HIVE community I opened and listened. Wonderfull then, and still wonderful now while I'm listening to the recording again and writing this comment. Detail: I suppose you either didn't remove the Xmas lights, or this is a recording you made sometime earlier, closer to Xmas... Not that I like you to remove the lights, they can stay there the rest of the year {LOL}

Thank you for your kind words and letting me into your world. I keep those twinkle lights all year round. They are fun! I made this recording last fall and meant to share it earlier but am just getting back into writing again and being involved in the HIVE community. What did I miss?

JNET

What you've missed! A WHOLE LOT hahahahaha
Some drama here and there, and foremost a lot of music. Am not too connected to every corner of HIVE, and usually I leave all drama happen far away from where I spend my time in HIVE, which is music, and a little bit of Leo and a little bit of some other corners at HIVE. It became a little quiet here, but since late last year, we seem to get some new people onboard and some oldtimers becoming active again. HIVEfest was interesting. Check the recordings. All virtual in a 3D room. Some cool developments happening: 3Speak plans I like very much.

Welcome back and let more of your piano playing flow towards us :)