passepied - claude debussy

in Classical Music2 years ago (edited)

▶️ Watch on 3Speak


Playing with light & shadow.

I'm getting better at dancing with the light. When I started my fascination of playing while manipulating light, I thought I would give myself a seizure. Entering and staying in character, I think of my hands as dancers. A pair of sunglasses helps in the blinding light.

Wide angle lens and two mirrors refraction. It’s 5:15 pm sunlight. (I manipulated the arpeture) It’s sauna steaming hot at the piano but I like the way these long sleeves look in the light. 🤷🏻‍♀️ Maybe I’ll record a better version when the weather cools off 🙃

I've listened to many versions of this piece and everyone plays it faster. The Passepied is a dance from the Baroque period. How can anyone dance at such speed? People wore big dresses back then with corsets, petticoats, and hoops! Having studied and performed as a dancer has enhanced my experience of music. I feel music differently. I breath and enjoy the transitions. I find places like ritardandos, in the music, a place to languish, tease, flirt. There's technique but dance enjoys more organic expression. Less metronome and more heartbeat. I imagine parts where if I was on stage, how would I move? How would I use my costume? Passepied makes me think of a certain pride that a courtier indulges when romanticizing pastoral life. A dance that is measured and restrained with a tinge of wildness.

The recording is far from perfect. But I enjoy the ohallenge that the piece demands. I like my students to see my process. Maybe I will post a better version down the road. How to stay serene in blinding light while wondering …. should I put on a bikini to be more comfortable? Do the mirrors need adjusting? Once the light bends a different way, the effect changes. These are the thoughts that bounce in my head while I work out the choreography of hands in the light. Plus wondering if I drank too much or too little coffee. Will this sound better with wine instead or winter weather? I can't turn on a fan or have the AC on. That would be an annoying background sound. I'm hot and I'm controlling my thoughts so that you don't watch angry moody hands.

Passepied is a fun piece. Now that its later in the day, I think I will play it for fun, no mirrors, and no camera to fuss with. If you want to hear a better version, come over 😬

JNET

jnet at the piano2.jpg


▶️ 3Speak

Sort:  

Dear @jnetsworld, we need your help!

The Hivebuzz proposal already got important support from the community. However, it lost its funding a few days ago and only needs support to get funded again.

May we ask you to support it so our team can continue its work?
You can do it on Peakd, Ecency,

Hive.blog / https://wallet.hive.blog/proposals
or using HiveSigner.
https://peakd.com/me/proposals/199

All votes are helpful and yours will be much appreciated.
Thank you!

Dear @jnetsworld, sorry to jump in a bit off topic but may I ask you to support the HiveBuzz proposal?
It recently lost its funding, is struggling to get back above the HBD stabilizer proposal, and is in dire need of help.
You can support it on Peakd, Ecency,

Hive.blog / https://wallet.hive.blog/proposals
or using HiveSigner.

On behalf of The HiveBuzz team, thank you!