Beyond The Gates Of Horror - Step #01: Introduction

in Table Top RPG2 years ago

Hello everyone!

This is my first post ever on hive blog, and friends who use this platform told me that it's good to start with an introductory post. I'm a tabletop roleplaying game enthusiast from Turkey. Actually, I'm trying to turn my hobby into a job. I run paid game sessions, creating content on YouTube, and most of my YouTube content are supported by game companies, like Free League Publishing (best known for Alien RPG and upcoming One Ring 2nd Edition), Modiphius (a UK based popular publisher), Chaosium (best known for classic Call of Cthulhu) and goes on. I feel like I don't belong anywhere with my unique taste of a game. I could find players extremely easily if I run a game for their demands, but I could never find a proper group for my own demands. At least, I know it's hard. With this series of article, I will try to improve my writing (sorry for my bad England :) ), and I will try to share my thoughts and experience in hope to find a similar mind around, or at least having a nice conversation over comments.

In my country, it's extremely hard to find people of taste of variety, and it's an everyday situation. For example: when people buy some snacks for themselves, they constantly buy the same product all the time. They don't try new things in general. I feel that sometimes it's just a decision, but sometimes, it's just a lack of vision. Either way, I accepted that I could not change people easily, so I started to create my content.

There is no any kind of RPG industry in my country. There's no any publisher, and no any book store (I mean, we have book stores but there's no any place that you could buy a rulebook or game scenario etc). We only have some hobby stores which mostly sells Magic: the Gathering and some other trading card games, and some board game café. And, in this wasteland of a hobby culture, we're trying to survive, and I'm trying to share my knowledge with as many people as I can.

I came into this reality in 1991, and met Dungeons & Dragons in the end of 2001, around November, I believe. Since then, I hugely drawn into this hobby. To be honest, I ditched school many times. Ditched family meetings, hangouts with some friends, skipped some gf opportunities, dropped jobs, changed my clique, and now I feel like I'm close to reach my nirvana about it. I don't know about the future, but right now, I'm making my living out of my hobby. And in this country, that's something.

I feel like I'm blabbering too much, so I'll directly jump into another subject: horror.

Horror is the reason of my title, and also horror is a part of my everyday life. It's always been like that. I remember that when I was a little baby, I sneak through to television at midnight and watch Elm Street, Chucky, Gremlins and more stuff. Since then, I really enjoy with horror. I will try to explain my aspect to the genre as much as my limited Tarzanglish lets me. I read lots of different approach into the genre, and I would like to share my thinking while learning yours. I'm planning to add some reviews into my posts sometimes. I will talk about my favorite game system KULT: Divinity Lost and how did it beat Call of Cthulhu, while Lovecraft is still my favorite author.

I think this kind of introduction is enough for a headstart. In the next post, I will try to explain why I don't like D&D much, yet I run a 12-month long campaign when 5th edition first published in 2014.

Hope to see you on next post;

Shatargat || DRACONISM

NOTE: Credits to cover photo: Satyaki Sartar on ArtStation - I do not have any rights of this image. Just wanted to put a related thumbnail. He has magnificent envionmental artworks on ArtStation, please check it out!

Sort:  

Welcome to Hive. I feel there are so much things I could learn from you. Glad to have you here

Welcome shatargat!
Ecency is fastest website, mobile and desktop application that improves your experience on Hive.

Use Ecency daily to boost your growth on platform!

Support Ecency
Vote for new Proposal
Delegate HP and earn more

Welcome to Hive, my friend. Looking forward to your content.

Hello @shatargat! This is @indayclara from @ocd (Original Content Decentralized) team. We saw that you already posted your first blog here in Hive! Congratulations and welcome!

It's also best to subscribe to Communities you like and share your blogs there to have a wider range of audience. Or you can check out the Communities Incubation Program.If you are looking for tips and information as a Hive newbie, click here: Newbie guide. If you have questions, you can hop into Discord server and we'll gladly answer your questions.

Also, letting you know since content on the Hive platform is monetized, using other people’s ideas or images could be considered as an offense and which is also viewed in a serious light on the blockchain. Here is a useful collection of resources about how plagiarism and abuse is viewed and handled on Hive.

Congratulations @shatargat! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s):

You received more than 50 upvotes.
Your next target is to reach 100 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Check out the last post from @hivebuzz:

Hive Power Up Month - Feedback from Day 21