You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: How I simplified my language learning process

in The MINIMALIST11 months ago (edited)

Oh Well! I will tell her you said that :)

It's an old habit. Old habits die hard they say. I don't fly an airplane for years. But hopefully I will pick it up again, as I find time in hopefully not so distant future.

Just turn on any busy airport, like NYC JFK or BKK Thailand, and you will see what I mean. You won't understand anything in the beginning :) Then slowly you get used to it. Some of it is just listening through the crackle of the static though. Its fun :)

Sort:  

I tried a few stations to see how things are and this whole thing has a certain charm to it, like eavesdropping of a sort, or spying on a police radio network haha! At first, I was confused as the station was quiet, as no data was on the air.
I wish they had French airport listed there though!

I vaguely remember you sharing photos taken from a Cessna like aircraft, not sure if that's from back then. Flying a plane must be a very liberating experience. Ah well, so many things bar my way here...

Well ATC communications is all English! Well if you can call that English. It’s like math, or codes.

I never tried to look up Europe. Looks like Paris de gulle is not available. Some other European airport are there though

https://www.liveatc.net/feedindex.php?type=international-eu

Yes mostly it is lot of silence unless it is a major airport like LAX or JFK or IAH. The first two never stops

Yep, I've noticed, but I'm not familiar with the air controller jargon, I suppose I need to educate myself on it first. Is this similar to military command codes?
Even though there are no French airports, I see one from Quebec. Then again if its all in English, different airports wont matter much.

It’s all English. It’s actually hilarious to listen to Russians talking in ATC :)

Yes it’s a lot of jargon and acronyms, but all English.

As you can imagine there are lot of online resources and courses :)

You can search, but here are some basics

https://www.aopa.org/training-and-safety/students/presolo/special/new-pilots-guide-to-atc-communication

I just heard Air India 307 asking for permission to land Tokyo control :) :)