Personal Values That Shape My Life

in The MINIMALIST2 years ago

pexels-photo-5197277.jpeg
Image Source

Our values are shaped by our past experiences or background, it could be family background, societal background, or cultural background whichever one we hold of high esteem determines the importance we put in our values.

We all have several sets of values, and the degree to which we hold each set of values can vary from each other because of what each set we pick means to us.




The values we hold define who we are currently and who we are going to be, it defines the kind of people we keep in touch with and the lifestyle, we end up with. The values we have determines what drives us to live well or live waywardly.

When we prioritize the core values of life, it changes our mentality, especially the good values and helps us strive to be better people regardless of what society says or tells us.

For me, some of the core values that I have inculcated into my life and have helped me to live a happy and free life are;




- Honesty: At times, being honest is painful but the result can never be compared to the pain of wishing you had lied or wishing you could just go through corners and not let people know the truth.

A few days ago, I almost didn't want to be honest with the management of a school I am currently working for now but a second guess, I am glad I was honest with them about my academic status.

I needed the job and I knew there were not going to pick someone who was an undergraduate especially since the strike was almost over, and when they asked, I almost wanted to tell them I wasn't a student but the other part of me knew it was as lie I was not ready to leave it even though I would never get the job and viola, I spilled the truth to them unconsciously, and even with that, I was given the job.

- Kindness: I wouldn't know if I am shaped by the scriptures but one thing I have learned over the years to be, is to be kind regardless of my own situation, regardless of who is involved. It is a hard-core value that most times, I did wish I could tame my act of kindness but looking at my life, I realize that I have received so many kindnesses from even those I never expected.

- Tolerance: The knowledge that I am not perfect and a conscious reminder about that, has helped me tolerate people's excesses. I tell people, I can accommodate people no matter their flaws and that is one good thing about me.

I have stretched myself so much that no matter where I find myself and with whom I find myself, I have the capacity to endure their flaws because I know someone else is also enduring my excesses and flaws.

- Respect: Treating others the way I want to be treated is been my motto for years now and it has not just adhered me to people, it has helped me kill every atom of pride In me and be able to respect even the least among my circle.

- Responsibility: I took up the responsibility for my family at a tender age when my peers were enjoying their youthful age and displaying their youthful exuberant, I was taking up the responsibility of my family and until now, I don't feel comfortable when someone else decides to be responsible for me. I feel responsible for everyone that comes across me especially if they are younger than I am and would embrace any opportunities to contribute to their life.

Even in my place of work because I work with young people, I tend to do things, without thinking twice, especially if there is a need for it to be done.




This is my entry to #KISS - Blogging Ideas 28

Thanks for reading!!!

Sort:  

It was nice you'd to be honest with your academic status because it wouldn't have been fair when the school management had to know the truth later. This might even affect you later on.

I have always shown kindness to people and I receive even where I never expected. This shows how rewarding being kind can be.

We both have similar values that I could continue to relate to but my comment might turn to a post 🤣🤣🤣

There are values we should always hold onto because whether we want or not, karma will come back, either in the good or bad way.

Just as the golden rule: Treat others as you would have them treat you.

Nice coming to your blog 🤩♥️