Maternity from minimalism

in The MINIMALIST2 years ago

Are all women born to be mothers? This was a question that was on my mind especially because of the lifestyle I had, a lifestyle with a full agenda and many challenges at a professional level.

Motherhood.png

Nowadays, women have a social role beyond the biological one. Motherhood becomes a decision and not an obligation. I never made motherhood a priority. I was married to a man who made me happy. We traveled, we got along very well, and I quickly reached high professional positions. Life was ideal, but with the consequences of senior executives such as little time and many responsibilities. However, my husband and I adopted a lifestyle of taking advantage of the free moments.

I saw many friends frustrated personally and professionally when they became mothers. I watched with horror all the juggling they had to do to combine their professional life with motherhood, and I didn't want that. My life was going too fast, and a baby was not an option. I also saw the other side of the coin, women paying millions for fertilization treatments and not being able to get pregnant. I didn't want this for my whole life either. My thought was that "all women are not meant to be mothers".

I thought my life was fantastic, but life throws you a curveball. After some medical tests, I was in a health situation where it was possible to spend the coming months in chemo and radiotherapy. Those were hard moments, with a lot of uncertainty, where I prayed for a second chance, but a second chance for what, to continue living with stress and obligations? It was sad to see myself at the end of my days with a lot of professional success but with many things still to learn personally. When the doctors said it was just a scare, I decided to slow down my life. I changed my heels for sneakers, and the following year I was surprisingly pregnant.

cap068_Snapseed.jpg

Medically, it was a miracle to have a child, and I would not have the opportunity to have another one. Faced with this, I resolved to live every minute to the fullest as a mother and enjoy those small but essential things of that wonderful bond between mother and child. I only had one chance, and I took it fully.

When my son was born, my husband and I went crazy with love, but we did not imagine the roller coaster of emotions and learning that we would face. In order to enjoy this stage we had to make several changes. At the work level I left management positions and took freelance alternatives where I managed my time. It combined with online work. My husband and I managed to be at home without missing any of the wonderful things about being parents.

I was not an expressive person, but when my son was born we needed to adopt the "kangaroo method" for the first few months. Although my son was not premature, we kept him close to our body for the first 6 months using a special harness. Today, thanks to my son, I am an expressive person, and I allow myself to be in contact with others through hugs, a wonderful way to tell someone that you love them.

Imagen206_Snapseed.jpg

I learned not to watch the clock. Playing with my son taught me that everyone has their own time to carry out their activities. A child is not in a hurry because he doesn't know how to count the hours. That's why he is happy. Life without a clock is more relaxed. When you breathe, you feel freedom.

PICT0042_Snapseed.jpg

I allowed myself to get reacquainted with my inner child and went back to playing with dolls and doing fun things. I am a small-sized woman, so I could easily get into my son's playpen. Every time I did this, my son's expression on his face was full of happiness, as was mine.

IMG00226-20101214-2042 - Copy_Snapseed.jpg

I didn't like doing crafts because they required a lot of patience, but when I became a mother, I had to use my creativity and grab needle and thread to make his costumes for school events. The look of happiness on my son's face every time I made his costumes was priceless. You might think it was easier to buy it, but this was a way to acquire skills to surprise the ones you love. The same thing happened to me with the cakes. I didn't know how to make them, but just the illusion of preparing and decorating cakes for my son led me to take a pastry course. It is Unimaginable things with my life as an executive woman years ago.

IMG01018-20111215-0741 - Copy_Snapseed.jpg

IMG01037-20111215-0910 - Copy.jpg

IMG_20140608_135222_Snapseed.jpg

2015-12-01 10.45.10.jpg

IMG_20191211_081137.jpg

A challenge as a mother of "only children" is to teach them that they are not the center of the universe. They must develop empathy to be able to live with others and strengthen bonds as strong as friendship.

IMG00946-20111106-1802 - Copy_Snapseed.jpg

My son is a very funny boy. He is always laughing. This has made him a boy with many friends. For a hermit-like me, it was quite an ordeal. I had to learn to have to open my space to receive other children, and I began to experience love and concern for other people's children. I became more empathetic to mothers who lacked the time and helped them by taking charge of study groups and supporting the children in their homework. I began to love this part of me.

IMG-20170325-WA0009_cleanup.jpg

IMG-20181012-WA0042_Snapseed.jpg

IMG-20190908-WA0021_Snapseed.jpg

IMG-20200228-WA0109.jpg

My son, like all children, has a sweet tooth. He has a special predilection for chocolate. It caused a bit of conflict for me because as a nutritionist this is not very compatible with the concept of "healthy eating", so I had to work on my flexibility and abandon the role of a doctor and be in the shoes of a mother. Nevertheless, this was a wonderful opportunity to work on boundaries with my son and explain him why some foods should not be abused more from the perspective of love than prohibition. This was a great lesson because when I applied it this way to my patients, I became @chaodietas (goodbye diets) that is to say, I adopted the philosophy in my practice of prevention instead of guilt and prohibition. My patients started to eat in a conscious way obtaining satisfactory results.

2017-04-04 18.21.06_Snapseed.jpg

2017-12-01 08.45.06.jpg

IMG_20190105_114052_1546703285124.jpg

IMG_20200129_174435.jpg

At home, we are advocates of cultivating our intellectual side as long as it gives us satisfaction. When my son started school he started very early since kindergarten starts at the age of two. Surrendering my son to the care of others was an act of faith, trust, and starting to work on an inevitable day that he will have to make his life and move away from us. This is the hardest thing for parents of only children to face, detachment.

My son adapted very well to school. He developed something very hard to see today: respect and love for his teachers. If you look at this picture, these were his teachers when he was two years old, and then they met him again 10 years later, and the affection when they saw each other was immense.

MARITZA PROF IVAN 20141020_074959_Snapseed.jpg

IMG_20191130_123708_Snapseed.jpg

Having the time allowed me to spend many afternoons with my son doing homework and establishing study habits to make it a learning activity without stress or obligation. Today I enjoy the fruits of having planted study habits. My son does his homework on his own and has initiative and responsibility. He enjoys studying and has achieved many successes but has to manage them with humility, something fundamental for his current stage as a teenager.

IMG_20200313_104234_1584111246500.jpg

62569210_2290244607733124_1481235612236251136_n_Snapseed.jpg

2017-10-22 20.29.27.jpg

IMG-20200303-WA0118_1584111021271.jpg

Every activity we do with our son we enjoy is a unique experience. I believe this has formed a spirit of security in him and reinforced his self-esteem. His first visit to the dentist was a pleasant experience, and as parents, it has taught us that children fear things that adults instill in them.

2015-01-19 10.56.58_Snapseed.jpg

This has made me reflect on whether my fears are my own or those that my parents transferred to me. I discovered that many of those fears did not belong to me, so I freed myself from them and began to experience more happiness. Without with my son this personal healing process would not have happened.

2016-08-02 08.42.49.jpg

2015-06-14 11.13.14_Snapseed.jpg

Since my son came into our lives, there have been a few days that we have been inactive. He is the driving force that makes us have schedules, wake up early and have recreational activities.

2017-11-08 14.25.47.jpg

2018-01-27 10.39.12.jpg

He decided to practice soccer as a sports discipline. I never imagined having to learn so many things about this sport, even spending weekends on a soccer field, a unique experience. We have always attended all his training sessions. I carry my bag of cookies, fruits, water, bandages, gauze, band-aids, and band-aids since there are so many children. Some of these things are needed. I have become the mother of several of them, hahaha!

IMG-20180630-WA0006_Snapseed.jpg

IMG_20200208_100849.jpg

IMG_20191121_132718.jpg

It has been almost 15 years since I prayed for a second chance. I have grown as a person. Motherhood from a minimalist life has allowed me to take in the essentials of being alive.

Diseño sin título - 2022-05-05T095306.634.png

Diseño sin título - 2022-05-05T095337.546.png

IMG_20190512_154735_1557690861083.jpg

I hope to be by my son's side for many years to see him become a good man. However, if it were my turn to leave early, the years at his side were worth their weight in gold. Motherhood has made me a better person.

IMG-20200510-WA0121_Snapseed.jpg

cintillo atardecer definitivo.png

Thank you for reading my response to option 1 of this week's #KISS bogging ideas for the week.

Happy Mother's Day!

cintillo atardecer definitivo.png

All images are property of the author

English (2).gif

Sort:  

This post its make me cry very hard! Your words are at high level of expression in true love, and the photos of your son being with you are beautiful! You are blessed two times, the first at the arrival of your son into your lives and the second with the oportunity of live beside him and enjoy being a truly mother. I hope you have many years of life that you can continue enjoy the house and the family that you build with so much love and effort! Godspeed @chaodietas !

Thank you very much @ebermudez for your nice comment. Life has been really generous with me, few have second chances to change their lives for the better. This would not have been possible without the support of my husband who was willing to be with me in the most difficult moments of my health. My husband has been an amazing man and a wonderful father. Thank you for your good wishes and may life return them to you in good health and happiness!

Hi @chaodietas, what a wonderful story 💕 I love how you got to experience and learn new things because of your son. Motherhood has made it easier to enjoy moments compared to stuff. Your son is lucky to have you and your adorable kid looks like he's grown up well.

I learned not to watch the clock. Playing with my son taught me that everyone has their own time to carry out their activities. A child is not in a hurry because he doesn't know how to count the hours. That's why he is happy. Life without a clock is more relaxed. When you breathe, you feel freedom.

Can't help but agree with this.. For an adult like me who lives every day thinking about responsibilities and the future, a child's carefree laughter and manner are refreshing. Moments with my daughter are worth more than anything in the world.

Thank you for sharing your story! I was able to pick up a few tips for raising my little one. My little girl is also a sweet tooth and I'm still finding out ways how to manage it since a lot of my relatives are suffering from diabetes. I agree it's better to explain things to children, instead of just saying no.

Thanks again and have a great week ahead ❤️

Hello @laviesm ,
It has happened to me that since I don't look at my watch, I enjoy more what I do and the day is much more efficient, it seems contradictory, doesn't it? I agree with you, kids today are very intelligent and they question everything, that's why it's better to explain why things happen so that from an early age we give them the responsibility to choose their actions but with previous knowledge of the pros and cons. I love you read my post, I send you thousands of blessings for you and your beautiful daughter, may happiness always surround you!🌻


~~~ embed:1522244757422059522 twitter metadata:Y2FtaWxsZWZvcmJ1c2h8fGh0dHBzOi8vdHdpdHRlci5jb20vY2FtaWxsZWZvcmJ1c2gvc3RhdHVzLzE1MjIyNDQ3NTc0MjIwNTk1MjJ8 ~~~
The rewards earned on this comment will go directly to the person sharing the post on Twitter as long as they are registered with @poshtoken. Sign up at https://hiveposh.com.

 2 years ago (edited) 

Hello @chaodietas,
This is one of the most beautiful stories I have read in a long time. You've defied the odds of minimalism and motherhood working in the 21st Century.🤗
I'm not a mum, never had the desire, but your story touched me and I could feel every ounce of gratitude you have for life, your loved ones, and for being a mother that makes your son proud.
From all that you've said, I'm happy that you embarked on a minimalist journey, because it has made you a rounded and invaluable person...way more than what you could have been as an executive.
I wish you all the blessings in the world 🙏
An official Welcome to the community, and thanks for making this tremendous #KISS contribution:)


PS. goodbye diets 😊... nice username. Thanks for explaining that:)
This post epitomises #PersonalGrowth and every thing that applying #minimalism to your life has to offer...
WELL DONE 💯

Thank you so much @millycf1976 for the welcome to the community, I found it by chance and I have read very beautiful content here that's why I was encouraged to tell my experience as a mother. Life has been good to me gave me a second chance and I made a 180º turn. My goal is to make every day valuable. Thank you very much for your nice comment! 🌻

You're very welcome. I'm happy you chose to share your story with this community.
I'm still smiling from reading it a second time👏🌹