Give, but add wisdom to it.

in The MINIMALISTlast month

Just as it is well known and as often preached in religious houses, "giving is a major proof of love," hence we should give out massively to our loved ones to show them that we truly love them. I know giving is good; it's a proof of love. However, I agree that such practice should be done with wisdom.

Each time I start practicing wisdom in my giving as a show of love, people tend to label me stingy, but I do not care because my practices and instincts are always bailing me out of the 'excessive show of love'.

My girlfriend back in school was someone who always loved to be shown love through gifts and it must be clothings because she's fashion freaked.
At first I wasn't having issues with being the guy to surprise her always with gifts even when I had little money with me, but when I came to realise that we could actually do the relationship thing without the compulsory gifting every now and then, I had to devise a means to put a barrier to stop such.
My brain picked the idea of putting up a barrier because my bank account was getting dried and there's nothing I could do.

It's not like she's the demanding type; no, the problem was that we began the relationship like that, with me always wanting to impress her because she loves to receive gifts a lot, and it's her 'easy going button'.

Her birthdays are days I don't, no matter any circumstances, fail to gift her glittering wear, and her 22nd birthday was forthcoming when the sensible idea came to me, so I decided to use that day to break off in a very understanding way that maybe she would feel a little pain, but the whole thing will find a way into her mind. I planned to snub gifting her a dress that day and instead go for a long, heart-to-heart walk.

The day came as usual. I sent her birthday wishes via SMS and told her to come around by 5 p.m. for a gift and outing, as we usually do on every of her birthdays.

Time got to 5 p.m., and she appeared well dressed with all smiles on her face. I walked up to her and gave her a tight hug, wished her a happy birthday again with a peck on her cheek, which she appreciated, and when I removed my hand from her shoulder, I went to take my seat while she sat down too with her eyes surprisingly fixed on me, which I noticed, and kept smiling.

She was expecting me to go inside my wardrobe or wherever to get her the gift I bought for her and not sit down.

"Babe, I know what you're expecting; sorry, I couldn't meet up this time around. My account balance is sucked dry; I couldn't just get you a single gift. Sorry, I'll make it up next year," I said in the midst of a smile on my face, which made her see the talk as a lie.

"You're joking, I know it," she responded with fake smiles on her face.

"I'm not joking; this is me being real. This is what I wanted us to talk about today. I really want the idea of all-time gifting to stop so that it doesn't bring the wrong idea whenever I can't provide, just like today," I told her with a strange face, which I think sent the seriousness signal to her, and she became dumb, which I expected because I've known her not to be harsh or easy to anger.

At that particular time, I saw what I'd won, and my plan worked out well. I didn't say a word again. I got up, walked into the kitchen, brought out a big-sized watermelon, sliced it into many slices, and began to eat while she was still moody. After a while, she stretched her hand to the watermelon on the table, picked one slice, and began to eat.

The day was almost dull, but I later found my way to make her have all the fun of her birthday in my house, and from that day on, the gifting was drastically reduced. I was still buying her clothes, though, not as rampant as it used to be.

Thank you!

The two images belong to me
This is for #kiss contest

Posted Using InLeo Alpha

Sort:  

!ALIVE | !LOLZ

@cypher09! You Are Alive so I just staked 0.1 $ALIVE to your account on behalf of @ vocup. (1/20)

The tip has been paid for by the We Are Alive Tribe through the earnings on @alive.chat, feel free to swing by our daily chat any time you want, plus you can win Hive Power (2x 50 HP) and Alive Power (2x 500 AP) delegations (4 weeks), and Ecency Points (4x 50 EP), in our chat every day.

Did you hear about the kidnapping at school?
It’s fine he woke up.

Credit: reddit
@cypher09, I sent you an $LOLZ on behalf of vocup

(2/10)
ENTER @WIN.HIVE'S DAILY DRAW AND WIN HIVE!

Truly giving is lifestyle that we see as something very important especially as Christians.

Congratulations @cypher09! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain And have been rewarded with New badge(s)

You distributed more than 3000 upvotes.
Your next target is to reach 4000 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Check out our last posts:

Our Hive Power Delegations to the May PUM Winners
Feedback from the June Hive Power Up Day