You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Who's Your Handy-woman?

in The MINIMALISTlast year

I concur 100%! :D For me, it was my mom -- she has much the same attitude, which I'm glad for, since it led me to acquiring and developing a lot more skills than I might've otherwise had. I don't think it's purely an economical thing, though. Not always. The way I see it now is, why should I pay someone else when I can probably do it? It's not that I don't wanna pay them, just that the "not being able to" label bugs me tremendously.

I don't get women who leave it to the men, or who sort of embrace this imaginary helplessness - "Oh, I could never do that". Well, that doesn't seem like a good attitude to start with, does it?

<3

Sort:  

Sort of like a damsel in distress mentality right? Beats me for real. But a lot of people enjoy it, so I guess that's up to them.

Your mom sounds wonderful. Honestly, it's nice to learn some of these things. Thanks for your warming comment friend.🤗

Sure, there's some perverse satisfaction in being a victim, I just don't think it holds a candle to the satisfaction of knowing you're capable, and that you got this, you know? :)

That's just about right. The damsel ok distress act is really outdated if you ask me. But to each her own, I guess. Can't make everyone reason the way you do.