A Guide To You

in The MINIMALIST16 days ago

I put off writing this for a while. I needed to make sure my thoughts were right and that meant I had to think about it critically. Practising minimalism in the barest of ways has been a concept that has been with me for as long as I can remember. Or at least, for as long as I could actively identify that that was what I was doing.

It’s almost difficult drafting minimalism into these five guidelines. But somehow the sub-concepts of minimalism are interwoven. So at the end of the day, I found my answers. For everyone who practises minimalism or has ever thought to practice it, these are my five most profound rules for it.

Live Intentionally

Living intentionally means living deliberately. Being deliberate means being conscious. And being conscious means being purposeful. It transcends physical possessions to your relationships, to your commitments and even your daily routine. Minimalism means being conscious and thoughtful, focusing on what adds value to your life.

You do what you do not out of necessity or the influence of others but because you truly want to do it. You savour each moment because you’re intentional about it. And because you’re intentional about it, you put your all into it. It’s a deliberate way of living and enjoying each aspect of your life.

Live Simply

Embracing simplicity in all aspects of your life means freeing yourself from the clutter. From decluttering your physical space to decluttering your daily routine and processes. It means embracing frugality and choosing quality over quantity. It means seeking value in simplicity other than material abundance.

When you remove unnecessary possessions, obligations and distractions from your life, you create room for the real things that give you joy and fulfilment to step in. This part gets hard sometimes, even for me. But I’ve seen the value of embracing simplicity in possessions and relationships. So, I strive daily to reduce my stress, by simplifying my life.

Live Mindfully

As a minimalist, tons of benefits accrue to mindfulness. You become present, you become aware of your environment and most of all, your choices. It involves paying attention to your thoughts, feelings, and actions and most times, even inactions so that you don’t consume things unnecessarily. You acquire the things you genuinely need or deeply desire and practice appreciation for every part of it.

Living mindfully also means living slowly. Slowing down to feel, to live and to experience. We’re always too much in a rush to see the sights and feel the sensations around us. Minimalism teaches us that slow living is okay. That taking breaks is better. That prioritizing experiences over material possessions gives greater and more long-lasting fulfilment.

Live Freely

Living freely is unburdening yourself of the excess. It’s more than decluttering your mind but rather, a conscious effort to grow. Minimalism celebrates personal growth. Working towards becoming a better you at each point in life. Living freely means embracing your truths, your principles and even your imperfections.

By extension, living freely means loving yourself so much that you invest daily in yourself and your growth as a person. I love the concept of living freely because it means that I can be unapologetically me while not deviating from my principles and it’s wonderful that it’s in line with the concept of minimalism.

Live Gratefully

And finally, there’s living gratefully. Practising gratitude in every aspect of your life is in two folds. You’re grateful and you embrace contentment. When you live gratefully, you cultivate a lifestyle of abundance, a lifestyle of appreciation. You’re grateful for the simple joys in life. And when you embrace contentment, you’re appreciative of the things you have rather than grumbling about needing more.

I do understand that in life, and especially in recent times, an ambitionless person is more or less set for destruction. But there’s ambition with reason. Ambition without spite or resentment as its foundation. Being contented and grateful is counting your blessings despite life’s challenges and being appreciative of them.

I’m no expert on minimalism but these are the things that I feel thoroughly showcase what minimalism is all about. Life. Love. Freedom.

Jhymi🖤


Image is mine.

Posted Using InLeo Alpha

Sort:  

aah, now this was a feel-good post, Tess! ... I am still clearing clutter from my life... but with each bag of stuff that leaves through the door, I breathe a little easier. I honestly want a peaceful and minimalist home. The few things that remain after the declutter need to be things that are used and LOVED and which bring me or my family pure joy, directly or indirectly. Relationships have always been far more important to me than stuff. I prefer to spend my time and money making memories rather than accumulating material possessions. The recipe you have for succeeding with minimalism in life includes some of the key values I am focused on employing in mine 💗. !LUV !ALIVE !LADY

#dreemerforlife

View or trade LOH tokens.


@samsmith1971, you successfully shared 0.1000 LOH with @jhymi and you earned 0.1000 LOH as tips. (1/3 calls)

Use !LADY command to share LOH! More details available in this post.

@jhymi! You Are Alive so I just staked 0.1 $ALIVE to your account on behalf of @ samsmith1971. (1/10)

The tip has been paid for by the We Are Alive Tribe through the earnings on @alive.chat, feel free to swing by our daily chat any time you want, plus you can win Hive Power (2x 50 HP) and Alive Power (2x 500 AP) delegations (4 weeks), and Ecency Points (4x 50 EP), in our chat every day.

jhymi, samsmith1971 sent you LUV. 🙂 (2/10) tools | trade | connect | wiki | daily

Made with LUV by crrdlx.

So wonderful to see how well it resonated with you and if I'm being honest, I'm still trying to perfect these values in my life as well. It's a work in progress, but so am I too. It's lovely having you here, Mom. And I'm glad you're doing well.🥰

5 great points that I also try to live by.
♥️✨

That's good to know, friend.🥰

You might say that you don't know much about minimalism but these five tips says it all. Great advice dear

Thank you, Becky. I hope you're doing well.🌹

Yes I am and I trust same for you as well😊

With these 5points have a successful life is sure👍

True. Thanks for stopping by.

Honestly, claiming to be a minimalist and not living by these five rules is hypocrisy in my views. Thanks for sharing this on this space. I'm glad I came across it dear Jhymi 🌺
#dreemerforlife

I'm glad you enjoyed it as well, dearie.🌺

 15 days ago  

Minimalist Cover Gif-7.jpg

Beautifully and so simple for anyone who truly want to live a minimalist lifestyle. Nice one sis.

Thank you dear.🌺

You are welcome beautiful 😍.

living with purpose, grateful and secure, excellent advice.

#dreemerforlife

Thanks for stopping by.🌺

Thanks for these wonderful points!
#dreemerforlife

You're welcome!!

I really love your points ,they are really very important in out daily life

They are indeed!

You just did well listing out the 5 most important points to live a minimalist life.

Glad to have you here!