The Scents That Do The Job

in The MINIMALIST8 months ago

I think as a person, what scent you’re known for goes a long way to speak for you. I’ve always been a lover of good scents. I’m not a regular user of perfumes. I mean I have them but most of the time, I forget to wear them, opting for regular deodorant instead. And that’s because of the lingering scent of the cleaning products I use.

I had a friend in school who was known for the awesome way she smelt when she passed. Good scents could become bad when it isn’t used in moderation. It’s like a nice cologne that would make the person passing by you sneeze and shake their fists at you in distaste, simply because, your scent is nice but you overdid it, so it comes out quite strong and becomes pungent.

I feel the beauty in scents is when it's soft, lingering, like it’s there but you need to inhale deeply to get a whiff. It gives a more lasting impression. And my friend possessed that in spades. I thought it was some rare perfume she used till I asked her and she said it was her detergent. This was new to someone like me who only went for those popular ones that I saw in commercials. They did the job but their scent didn’t cut it at all so I’d take an enormous amount of time and water to make sure their scent was faint and bound to be gone when it was properly aired in the sun.

So, from then on, I actively ensured that my clothes had that nice lingering scent in them and that could only come from detergents that did the work it was supposed to while maintaining a sunny, fresh smell to the clothes. And so, once I found a good one that fulfilled those two conditions, plus lathered well, which many of the cleaning soaps and detergents lack these days, I stuck to it.

I do this part out of habit though. Making sure the water I use in washing is germ-free. A lot of people prefer them in their bathing water, which I do too. But, I feel it’s also necessary in my washing water. But I ensure to put it as little as possible since it has a strong smell. One or two drops are just as efficient so the antiseptic ends up lasting for months on end.

The same thing goes for my Whitener. I realized that there is a delicate way to use it so that it doesn’t stain your clothes and give it spots instead of whitening it like it's supposed to. I make sure to put adequate drops and stir the water, adding a bit of detergent so that it all mixes quite nicely before putting in my selected white clothes. There are some white shirts and tops that are expressly forbidden by the manufacturer from being whitened.

So, that’s where my handy soap comes in. I realized that detergents could be rather harsh for a lot of fabrics. It might do the job but it could adequately change the nature and texture of that fabric. So, in delicate fabrics like that, some white clothes included, I opt for this multi-purpose baby soap that is rather soft on the clothes and retains its texture.

I don’t think going for the bare minimum in cleaning products is the best. I know, firsthand, that the really cheap ones could do irreparable damage to our clothes and by extension, even our skin. We don’t need to become all ostentatious or empty our pockets. But quality is important since these fabrics would ultimately go on our skin.

Our minimalist tendencies don’t pose to cause us harm but rather give us the best with what’s available. My cleaning products are very affordable and offer the best services to me so it’s a win-win all round. I look after myself and select the best that would be good for me as well.

Jhymi🖤

This is my response to The Minimalist #KISS Blog.


All images are mine.

Sort:  

I never use baby and me before,I think I will give it a try and see how it goes with my fabrics.

Posted using Proof of Brain

I'm looking forward to your positive review. It's really nice. Thank you dear.🌺

I am very picky with the bathroom products I use for two reasons—scent and effectiveness. If a product smells off or weird, I wouldn't use it regardless of how effective it may be. Can't stand them. If it smells good and it isn't that effective, then I'd rather use it for less demanding scrubs, like the tiles, just to keep the scent in the air. Sometimes, the right cleaning products are sufficient to find favour amongst people.

That's right. People are incredibly drawn to scents so it's necessary to smell nicely. And scent without effectiveness defeats the whole purpose so you may as well use it for tiles like you said. Thank you for your constant support Sir.🤗

Someone ones told me she put disinfectant in her wash when washing and I felt like that's wierd but I realise the importance in your post.

I love good fragrance as well and it's one of the things I check when going for a product.

I feel it's necessary a lot of times actually since it's a disinfectant. But, like I said, it gets bad when it's not done moderately.
Fragrance would always count for me. Thank you, Georgie.🌺

You make two very true points. Do not go for the cheapest, sometimes it does not work out well. However, we can find a good price/quality ratio in the market. And that takes a few tries. Also, the dreaded damage that some products have in the composition of the clothes! Even on our hands, on our equipment, and on what we apply it to. Careful reminders. Regards @jhymi

I know, for one, that I've had a lot of reactions on my hands from certain cleaning products. It's quite dreadful and I'm still bearing one of its consequences today. And also cheap never equates to better no matter what. I'm glad you understood many of the salient points, Sir. Warm regards to you.☺️

Omoh. I have not really cared about scents on clothes just my perfume. But I do know that good fragrance goes a long way. I don’t use Hypo on any of my clothes because it’s way too harsh but I use it for toilets and the mopping. Does well with repelling insects.

I didn't even know it repelled insects. We certainly learn every day, don't we.
I like perfumes too. On the days I remember their existence though.

Like I always say… don’t crack my screen 🫠

I love your cleaning products 🤩 Mostly because of the names and what they do. I think they are for me too 🤭 Someone who smells good gets attention, in a good way. Then I wonder if it's perfume or your laundry soap, for me to use as well.

Yayyyy! So glad to have you here, dearest @purpleglitter. And the names are quite catchy, aren't they?☺️
The laundry soap is quite nice but it's multipurpose and really soft so you could actually use it to bath. I wonder how amazing your cleaning products are, myself.🌺🤗

Yes 😃, I really liked the names and the description you give of them 🤩 The ones I use are very simple. They have been very helpful in maintaining cleanliness in my home 💟

When one smells good, it says a lot about the person and that's just how things are meant to be.

Exactly. It's a really good thing to.

That's right.

pixresteemer_incognito_angel_mini.png
Bang, I did it again... I just rehived your post!
Week 174 of my contest just started...you can now check the winners of the previous week!
!BEER
1


Hey @jhymi, here is a little bit of BEER from @pixresteemer for you. Enjoy it!

Learn how to earn FREE BEER each day by staking your BEER.

I am very cautious when it comes to the scent I use because my nose is very sensitive so strong or pungent scents irritate me and it always nice when you are known for having a good scent.
#dreemerforlife.

This is my first time seeing a "baby and me" soap.

Good mama, is quite good. I have used a couple of times. So far, it serves you then it's good to go!

#dreemport #dreemerforlife

I've never liked good mama but seeing how much you prefer it I just remember one of my close family friend that loves it so much.

Just like you, the scent is key for me and then it's effectiveness, hehe.