Bearing down on the cost of healthcare: my minimalist approach to family and friends

Nigeria, like many developing nations, has a health system in a comatose state where the medics are struggling to leave, mostly because the remunerations are poor and the equipment is either nonfunctional or not available. The quality of healthcare is not yet palatable or affordable. My parents are both elderly, and with aging come ailments that are often financially demanding.

IMG_20240323_120821_105.jpg

IMAGE CREDIT IS MINE


Being a medic, I knew what would benefit my parents in terms of their health. I used to stock up on many over-the-counter medications, such as antimalarials, antibiotics, analgesics, etc., as a quick intervention and, most times, complete treatment and resolution of disease conditions that came knocking. It's fine; they are appreciative and proud to have their son as a medic who is available to treat rather than struggle at any hospital to access care.


SCREENSHOT IMAGE IS MINE

Three years ago, I got a job with the health insurance organization here in Nigeria, and I understood better what health insurance meant. A few months later, I enrolled my mother as an 'EXTRA' dependent on myself at an annual cost of N15,000, which is about $10. You will agree with me that that was a commendable step. The challenges, however, I encountered were that I practically had to remind my mom to go to follow-up clinics. She still prefers me checking her health status with my equipment whenever I come home. I didn't relent in encouraging her to visit the hospital when necessary, seeing that I had paid for her health in advance. About two weeks ago, I got a call from her. She was at her hospital, and she had symptoms of upper respiratory tract infection and malaria. I volunteered immediately to join her at the hospital so as to facilitate her seeing the general physicians, but she declined. She was placed on medications, which she used religiously. I checked on her and ensured I did not interfere with the treatment she was placed on. However, I encouraged her to go back to the facility if there was no significant improvement. Thankfully, she recovered perfectly from those symptoms. There are still some drugs I do buy for her because of their quality, which is often substandard at the general pharmacies, but I am greatly relieved of a significant part of those expenses. Nothwithstanding, I will not hesitate to intervene when the need arises even though she may not want to alert me as she knew I would spring up to her without a second thought.


I have some special and private patients that I am encouraging to obtain the health insurance package, which has just recently become mandatory in Nigeria but has yet to be enforced. Spending N15,000 annually as a form of health insurance on behalf of my parents and special patients surely relieves me of the financial burden. Enrolling people into health insurance at the cost of $10 gives me better satisfaction as a help than giving money to people whenever they come knocking with an ailment.


Hopefully, I will target a few people and pay for their health insurance while I encourage them to be productive or perhaps become bloggers on Hive so they can get some rewards. I believe empowering people stands the test of time beyond being interventional when their needs arise.


Also, even though I'm a medical doctor, I walk into clinics and access care as an average patient would. This gives me a second opinion of my ailment, and I try as much as possible not to disclose my identity to doctors that do not know me or even interfere with their treatment plans. However, I could opt for better-branded drugs at personal cost when I feel those I will be offered are substandard.


Staying healthy for me and those of my family and friends means I will have more energy and resources to focus on my work, be productive, and, in a way, enjoy quality time here on Hive.

Thank you for reading. I would love to have your comments and contributions.

Sort:  

I don't know how common it is to have health insurance for the middle and lower class but I think it's quite commendable, especially since it would go a long way to save cost in the end. Good job, James.✨

Thank you very much, it really is a better alternative to visiting the hospital to be charged exorbitant amounts

I think in the long run, it pays off to have health insurance in developing countries like yours. Otherwise, when in an emergency, without cash in hand, things could become dire.
Good on ya for making your parents health a prior, by applying your minimalistic outlook:)
small KISS Gif.gif
Thanks for your #KISS
I enjoyed it 😉


lips sealed

speaking lips

Thank you very much. Health insurance has recently been made mandatory in Nigeria however yet to be enforced. It is the saving grace for both the poor and the rich. Thank you for your kind words

🤗

Congratulations @jjmusa2004! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain And have been rewarded with New badge(s)

You have been a buzzy bee and published a post every day of the week.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Check out our last posts:

Happy Birthday to the Hive Blockchain