Staying unperturbed within storms of thoughts and troubles

in The MINIMALIST2 months ago (edited)
You could learn by experience or learn from other people's experiences, but at some point in life, we become so saturated with troubling thoughts that we probably surrender to their tortures or learn resistance to them. The latter has been my position. A friend of mine came to me recently with rants on how her boss has been unfair, and she was ready to blow hot with him. Thankfully, she was willing to listen to my advice, knowing fully well that responding in her current mood would make her say things she might regret later. I called her down gently but firmly, 'Learn not to react immediately, and not everything deserves your reaction'. This is one major lesson I have learned over time, mostly from experience.


I used to put the world on my shoulders in an attempt to solve all problems and situations. As a superhero, you could tag me. I wanted to be Mr. Nice guy for all and sundry, so little or no attention was paid to my mental well-being. At least not until I had a mental breakdown. Before this year, 2024, I wanted to satisfy as many people as possible, even when they didn't realize the sacrifices I was making. I could go all out to defend friends, family, and even strangers. Nothing was wrong with all those, but I did not have a limit to my superhero skills.

IMG_20240701_085956_693.jpg


Basically, I realized that I had a shady and unclear perception of the actual state of things when I reacted promptly, which probably would put me at a disadvantage. Well, just like a storm or unsettled water, it was difficult for me to see beyond the obvious. It was difficult for me to hold back my emotions and react, but intentionally, I had to stay put by calming myself with a chill pill. I got a reminder testimony from a high school junior to another where the former told the latter that 'James would not take any nonsense' and this made me smile. Truly, I would not take nonsense, but as I have grown and matured, I would probably just let the 'nonsense' slide and move on.


Not reacting to distractions is not enough for me; I wouldn't want my mind wandering in idleness! You may refer to my focus as being self-centered, but for me, it's a path I am comfortable with. 'Prioritizing myself' has been my watchword since this year began, and oftentimes, I remind myself to let go of excesses that serve as a burden to me both physically and emotionally. This does not literally mean I do not get affected by disturbing or troubling thoughts, but, I have learned to stay unaffected by them, stay optimistic, and channel my energy into matters that would benefit my mental states.

IMG-20240711-WA0004.jpg


Without remorse, I have said countless nos to requests, especially those I could not afford. Helping friends and family is lovely, but not at the detriment of one's convenience. Here's my principle of traveling light with my thoughts and emotions.


-identifying troubling or disturbing thoughts

-filtering thoughts by relevance and priority

-slowing down or not even responding to those thoughts or demands

-channeling my thoughts towards events that keep my mental state healthy.


With losses and gains in life, I am least concerned but focused on staying healthy mentally and physically. Do I have frequent troubling thoughts and disturbances? Yes! Do I let them weigh me down? I don't even give relevance to them, thus diverting my attention to healthy thoughts. Sometimes, I wonder how I manage to stay calm in troubling situations.

Troubles would pass; I'd be left with the damages if I let them get to me!

IMAGES ARE MINE

Thank you for reading. I hope your mind stays clear always.

Sort:  

Troubles would pass; I'd be left with the damages if I let them get to me!

I love this. It is definitely a nice word to keep in mind.

I think most of us, at some time really played the superhero not like it wasn’t good to help but we weren’t doing it so well because in the long run, it affect us.

It is important to stay mental healthy.

Truly, we must learn to balance giving ourselves out to others and living a mentally balanced life. Thank you for your kind comment.

 2 months ago  

Hey there!

While you're here, you might want to check out our updated community rules.

Thank you!



General Community Rules

Updated: 5 July 2024

⚠️ No Overly-Religious Posts/Unfriendly to Preachers & Zealots.
⚠️ An AI-unfriendly community (photos and text)
⚠️ Please post and comment in English only (as less is more)
⚠️ Original Content Only; Plagiarism is NOT Tolerated
⚠️ No Cross-Post; Such posts will be muted
⚠️Posts not relating to minimalism will be muted
⚠️ No recycling/reposting of text or photos
⚠️ The community logo is not for personal use. Taking images from another account in general is considered photo theft.

Noted, thank you very much