Hello Monday | Motivating A Change of Habit to Achieve A Minimalist Lifestyle in 2024 [APRIL 15th Update]

88323583_s.jpg

Since my original post on the above topic on April 1st, I realized that the first quarter of this year has flown by without me making any progress on my decluttering efforts. Now the second quarter is staring me in the face. It's mid April, so I have time to make progress before month end. My goals for April are to:

(i) initiate the information I discovered on two rules to successfully declutter your life; and,

(ii) review and implement, if appropriate, the responses to my previous post.

After reading two rules recently, I gave considerable thought to both of them.

The 30/30 Rule. I felt this tactic jerked me too fast into the reality lane. The idea behind the 30/30 rule was simple. However, eliminating on Day one, one item. Day two; two items. Then each day the items increase until Day thirty; 30 items. Calculating the total number would reduce my clutter by 465 items. You have to remember that I need to take it slowly. Accumulating my collections took over thirty years. Given my indecisiveness in even parting ways with one item on any particular day won't work for me.

The 90-90 Rule. Created by Joshua Fields Millburn and Ryan Nicodemus of The Minimalists, the 90/90 rule is a decluttering process that requires you to ask yourself two questions about objects you're not sure about: Have you used it in the past 90 days? And if not, will you use it in the 90 days ahead?1 Now this approach I felt would work with me since my biggest problem is decisions when it comes to keeping or tossing items. I hold onto them for years, thinking one day I may use it, then I'd have to purchase it again.

I finally decided to try the 90-90 Rule for one month. I started on April 1st.

262866.png

rinreMr4T-dividerline-Resized.png

APRIL 15th DECLUTTER PROJECT STATUS:

At first, I was thinking that I'd report on my progress in May. But that approach felt as if it would take too long. I wanted to get started and show the efforts I'm making every two weeks. That way, I can gauge my activity and get motivated to accomplish even more during that month.

In my April 1st post, I received excellent advice by @shanibeer in the comments that I have now implemented in conjunction with the 90-90 Rule for my first turn at decluttering.

"I've found that it is a bit of a journey and it takes a lot of time and energy. This idea helped me:
set a short time for the activity (even with a timer - I used my phone), set maybe half an hour. before your start have your sorting equipment with you - a box for donations, a bag for recycling, another for refuse. Take a first pass and remove the things you have no qualms about. Sort them and move them on straightaway. Finish when you say you will and have a sit down. It may only be a small thing, but it's a bit more space than you had before."

Remember, my goal in the 90-90 day rule is to look at an item and decide whether I have used this item ninety days previously or will use it in the next 90 days.

Taking @shanibeer's advice (THANK YOU!), I sat for forty-five (45) minutes reviewing some travel brochures, maps, and other information from previous vacation trips. It appears as though I acquired these items almost twenty years ago. Stacked away in a drawer, I had forgotten about them until last week while searching for a vacation brochure for a trip this summer.

I chose a space where I could be comfortable while reading and enough room to spread out the travel information.

Once I began perusing the information, I was surprised to find items dating back as far as 2008. Of the items I decided to keep for future trips, there were forty-two (42) I identified as ready to discard immediately. I'm sure that the information has changed drastically in the years since.

20240403_150611.jpg

rinreMr4T-dividerline-Resized.png

So that you can see the years from two of the travel magazines, here are close-ups:

20240403_150919.jpg

rinreMr4T-dividerline-Resized.png

TXOfficialTravelMap-2011.jpg

262866.png

Once finished, I gathered the stack and placed them in the outdoor recycle receptacle. It felt good just to know that I have those old items out of the house.

A small step. But it meant a lot to actually get started instead of constantly thinking about it, then doing nothing.

I do acknowledge that the task ahead in terms of identifying and sorting will be daunting the remainder of the year. However, if I take small steps and break the tasks down into monthly action items, I feel I can accomplish my decluttering goals.

Finally, I know this may sound drastic, but @shanibeer also gave me insight into another aspect of the items I have in numerous storage places:

"For things that have no meaning to me (pretty much everything in the garage), the question I ask myself is, "what would happen to this if I were dead?" The answer is pretty much always "recycling" or "refuse"."

Food for thought. I put the question to my husband to find out his thoughts. His answer was the same. At least we're on the same page, so I tasked him with the backyard shed since that's his realm of the majority of items I wouldn't know which end is up!

Perhaps together we can make some headway in 2024. I'll keep you posted.

262866.png

Good luck everyone with whatever your endeavors.

justclickindiva-butterfly.png

SOURCES:
a) JustClickindiva's Footer created in Canva utilizing its free background and images used with permission from discord admins.
b) Unless otherwise noted, all photos taken by me with my (i) Samsung Galaxy 10" Tablet, (ii) Samsung Phone, & (iii) FUJI FinePix S3380 - 14 Mega Pixels Digital Camera
c) Purple Butterfly part of purchased set of Spiritual Clip Art for my Personal Use
d) All Community logos, banners, page dividers used with permission of Discord Channel admins.
e) Ladies of Hive banner used with permission of and in accordance with the admin's guidelines
f) Thumbnail Image created by me in Canva.
g) "Flames." What is Apophysis 2.09. https://flam3.com/
h) Hello Monday Let's Do This ClipArt purchased from 123rf.com on 11/8/19

1 90-90 Rule in Minimimalism. The Minimalist. Online at: https://www.theminimalists.com/ninety/

262866.png

Sort:  

So pleased that you were able to find the place for you to start and that my experiences helped you a little.

It appears as though I acquired these items almost twenty years ago

This struck a chord and made me smile 🙂, this is the garage for me, twenty years and even longer! There is a ball of sisal that I have been carrying with me from home to home for 48 years. I can remember buying it in the Kings Road in London all that time ago. It is "for a project". It used to have a companion, a ball of seagrass twine, but that's disappeared - a complete mystery.

it meant a lot to actually get started instead of constantly thinking about it, then doing nothing.

Yes, finding that little place to start and getting something done is so rewarding. As with any sorting out, it really helps with peace of mind. It sounds like you've found some great techniques, too.

I'll be fascinated to know how you've got on at the end of April.

Hello @shanibeer. So glad you got a chance to visit and see my travel brochures from 2008 and beyond. It's amazing that I had forgotten those for these many years. Yes, I can understand about the garage holding onto items "for a project" that never comes to fruition.

I've found that small space to work in. And I'm off to a good start in my mind. So, I'll choose several days and an item(s) for that day and see what becomes of it.

I'll have an update on April 30th. Thanks so much for your support and engagement. I appreciate it. Take care.

!ALIVE
!LADY

View or trade LOH tokens.


@justclickindiva, you successfully shared 0.1000 LOH with @shanibeer and you earned 0.1000 LOH as tips. (1/19 calls)

Use !LADY command to share LOH! More details available in this post.

@shanibeer! You Are Alive so I just staked 0.1 $ALIVE to your account on behalf of @ justclickindiva. (3/10)

The tip has been paid for by the We Are Alive Tribe through the earnings on @alive.chat, feel free to swing by our daily chat any time you want, plus you can win Hive Power (2x 50 HP) and Alive Power (2x 500 AP) delegations (4 weeks), and Ecency Points (4x 50 EP), in our chat every day.

Your posts are very special and interesting stories we also get to learn a lot.

I'm on an interesting journey with decluttering my living space. Thanks for your support of my project.

Take care.
!ALIVE

@djbravo! You Are Alive so I just staked 0.1 $ALIVE to your account on behalf of @ justclickindiva. (2/10)

The tip has been paid for by the We Are Alive Tribe through the earnings on @alive.chat, feel free to swing by our daily chat any time you want, plus you can win Hive Power (2x 50 HP) and Alive Power (2x 500 AP) delegations (4 weeks), and Ecency Points (4x 50 EP), in our chat every day.

Most welcome dear.

90-90 rule sounds more interesting but if you will ask me i’d say the The 30/30 rule is more easier if you want to get rid of many things.
This was a really nice read. Thanks for sharing.

Hi @phyna. Both rules are nice to work with. It's all in how a person views the situation. I couldn't imagine on day 24 getting rid of twenty four items that day. I can't decide to get rid of one item a day.

Thanks so much for your visit. I appreciate it and your engagement. Take care.

!ALIVE

@phyna! You Are Alive so I just staked 0.1 $ALIVE to your account on behalf of @ justclickindiva. (1/10)

The tip has been paid for by the We Are Alive Tribe through the earnings on @alive.chat, feel free to swing by our daily chat any time you want, plus you can win Hive Power (2x 50 HP) and Alive Power (2x 500 AP) delegations (4 weeks), and Ecency Points (4x 50 EP), in our chat every day.

Okay. I totally understand.
Greetings 💝

PIZZA!

$PIZZA slices delivered:
@pixresteemer(1/5) tipped @justclickindiva