The Minimalist Daily Theme | Transformation Thursday - Report on MAY Decluttering Efforts Utilizing the 90-90 RULE

Copy of Minimalist-DailyTheme-THURSDAY.jpg

TRANSFORMATION THURSDAY
Reprioritise, organise, declutter, and tidy up your physical or mental space. Growth and changes that you have experienced or plan to undertake.
If you'd like to join in this Minimalist initiative, check out the post here:
The Minimalist Daily Theme

262866.png

In conjunction with my ongoing efforts to live a minimalist lifestyle and reduce my living space both physically by and mentally, on April 1st I adopted the 90-90 Rule. During the month I have actively pursued my plans as set forth in my previous post.

First I want to remind those who haven't had a chance to review my initial post that the 90/90 rule is a decluttering process that requires you to ask yourself two questions about objects you're not sure about: Have you used it in the past 90 days? And if not, will you use it in the 90 days ahead?1 Now this approach I felt would work fir me since my biggest problem is decision making when it comes to keeping or tossing items. I hold onto items for years, thinking one day I may use it, then I'd have to purchase it again.

Since my original post in April, I have realized small successes in that I've actually begun as recommended by @shanibeer to sit for short period and tackle items in a particular room of the house.

This is my third decluttering effort. In this exercise, I wanted to focus on another aspect, reprioritizing.

Reprioritization is the process of completing a thorough reassessment, then rearranging you priorities based on the importance and urgency. This can be a mental exercise of our actions and decisions on an issue or a physical reorganization of items based on our prioritized conclusions.

Doing this allows you to make informed decisions about how to allocate your time and energy. The goal is to ensure that you focus on the tasks that have the greatest urgency and impact. As to physical items, it ensures that you don't sift through unnecessary items to locate items you need immediately.

Last week, I added items to my pantry. I realized I didn't have enough room for my non-perishable items. The decision to halve my pantry items into short and long term storage gave me peace of mind while creating space for additional items I need immediately.

Long term storage such as dinner service and additional supplies of bottled water have been moved to another closet area.

I want to report on my May efforts that I documented in this regard by tackling two projects.

DateItemDisposition
5/11/24Non-Perishable Storage20210515_123811.jpg
5/13/24Paper Goods and Emergency Food and Equipment20210515_123907.jpg

262866.png

Non-Perishable Storage

On 5/11, I reorganized my non-perishable goods. Recently I purchased during a sale additional non-perishable items to accommodate my extended family's needs. I make sure that I have enough bottled water and personal items that are regularly used. I assist my family that would otherwise be without necessary items in their daily lives due to a shortage of monthly income. This is in addition to fresh and frozen foods.

That way, when they visit or request that I bring them items, I can quickly locate and bag them, then be ready for them to pick up; else I'll deliver upon visiting.

Paper Goods; Emergency Food and Equipment

On 5/13, after deciding which items I wanted to reprioritize, I relocated my long-term supplies. Several years ago, I acquired emergency food from the Wise Company. This company specializes in 72-Hour Meals. One box provides enough food that lasts three days in case you're in an emergency situation such as a flood, tornado, or hurricane and access to supplies is cut off. I live on the Gulf Coast of Texas. We depend upon preparedness during our Hurricane Season which starts on June 1st and ends on November 30th. During that time, we remain on alert for Atlantic storms that have penetrated the Gulf of Mexico.

Often we're surprised by an intense storm that produces massive flooding. About a month ago, such a storm hit our north neighbors. It left destruction and devastation to residents' lives. As of today, the water has not receded with some residents cut off. They must rebuild or relocate as they've lost their homes and transportation. Thankfully, no deaths were reported in this flooding incident.

rinreMr4T-dividerline-Resized.png

I have acquired enough emergency supplies to furnish not only my home, but also my extended families' homes. Some don't have the space to accommodate extra supplies.

I removed the paper goods, emergency food and contact items to a back storage room.

This reprioritizing exercise has helped me tidy up my physical space where I have more room to work with.

Also, this has affected my mental attitude. I feel more in charge of the items I have acquired and know exactly where each item is located in case of an emergency.

262866.png

Good luck everyone with whatever your endeavors.

justclickindiva-butterfly.png

SOURCES:
a) JustClickindiva's Footer created in Canva utilizing its free background and images used with permission from discord admins.
b) Unless otherwise noted, all photos taken by me with my (i) Samsung Galaxy 10" Tablet, (ii) Samsung Phone, & (iii) FUJI FinePix S3380 - 14 Mega Pixels Digital Camera
c) Purple Butterfly part of purchased set of Spiritual Clip Art for my Personal Use
d) All Community logos, banners, page dividers used with permission of Discord Channel admins.
e) Ladies of Hive banner used with permission of and in accordance with the admin's guidelines
f) Thumbnail Image created by me in Canva.
g) "Flames." What is Apophysis 2.09. https://flam3.com/

1 90-90 Rule in Minimimalism. The Minimalist. Online at: https://www.theminimalists.com/ninety/

262866.png

Sort:  

I feel more in charge of the items I have acquired and know exactly where each item is located in case of an emergency.

Fabulous - for me, this is one of the great benefits.

So much steady progress 😍

Yes, I feel I'm making steady progress. Thanks for your visit and support. Take care.

!LADY

View or trade LOH tokens.


@justclickindiva, you successfully shared 0.1000 LOH with @shanibeer and you earned 0.1000 LOH as tips. (4/22 calls)

Use !LADY command to share LOH! More details available in this post.

It's just like that today we all are using mobile phones a lot and physical activity is very less due to which we are going into depression so it is better that we all do more physical activities.

Hello @djbravo. Physical activity is always best for a healthy body and mind. Thanks for your visit. Take care.


Hey @justclickindiva, here is a little bit of BEER from @pixresteemer for you. Enjoy it!

Learn how to earn FREE BEER each day by staking your BEER.

Congratulations on a job well done! We are thrilled to see the outstanding results you've achieved. Your dedication and hard work have truly paid off, and it's inspiring to witness the impact you've made. Keep up the fantastic work, and know that your contributions are valued and appreciated.


Banner.png

From Venezuela, our witness drives decentralization and the adoption of Web3 technology, creating opportunities for the local community and contributing to the global ecosystem. // Desde Venezuela, nuestro testigo impulsa la descentralización y la adopción de la tecnología Web3, generando oportunidades para la comunidad local y contribuyendo al ecosistema global.


Sigue, contacta y se parte del testigo en: // Follow, contact and be part of the witness in:

Vota por el testigo @Hispapro // Vote for the @Hispapro witness

Keychan -
Hive.blog / https://wallet.hive.blog/~witnesses
- Ecency - Peakd