Sort:  

Haha! My first duty to empty the toilet has been delayed, cause it is way too heavy for me to walk that far without spilling it. However, hubby will be here within an hour, so it's all good 😆

Lol so is the toilet on a boat just a bucket? And where do you dump it?

No, not a bucket. It's a cassette toilet on our boat. There are different options like a pump out, or compost toilets. Here's a quick YouTube clip to give you an idea.

There's a main "Elsan" at each marina or along the canals where people empty their cassette toilets... I'm not sexist, but it's a job that I think is better suited for males 🤗, so I never robbed my husband of such pleasure.😂 However, I've been told that you can find an odd one that's in a terrible state.

There's a spare one on this boat which is handy, cos we've had close calls while continuously cruising before when we got delayed in getting to Elsans.

Okay I see. That makes a lot of sense.

I've been told that you can find an odd one that's in a terrible state.

I could see that being the case lol

The cassette toilets have good locking mechanisms, and there's a device to close the bowl to prevent what's inside the cassette from spilling back up into the toilet bowl... like on rocking days or during storms when the boat might rock a lot.

Yeah that makes sense. sounds essentially like a backflow preventer

Yes, I believe that's the word I was trying to remember.