Trying to decorate our Home in a black theme, the minimalist way.

in The MINIMALIST15 days ago


Brown Vintage Travel Moodboard Photo Collage.jpg

When I was still a teenager, pink was my favorite color that I even dreamed of having a pink house. Maybe because it's the color of barbie and every girl loves it. Since I didn't have stuff my parents couldn't afford, it took time before I overcome that stage. Then, during my college days, I used to stay in my cousin's house and I had a wow feeling as it was painted in PINK! Her daughter's favorite color.

However, as the time passed by, as I got older, lol my preferences changed. I am no longer into that color as I find it too girly! Black is much better though! As someone not so fashionable and artistic it was the safest; easy to match.

So back in 2021, when my husband and I decided to build our home, the color I wanted for the walls was cream and brown at the edge. Yet, as I am working in the city, and it was my brother-in-law who supervised everything, it was achieved 🙃. The Colors were beige and brown, I will show you later.

There is no use crying over spilled milk so unless I will be spending money again for the repainting. Rather, I look on the positive side, I can still achieve the minimalist design, but in black theme.

441762893_429032383330339_5219139522576403854_n.jpg

I've shared a photo in my previous blog of this couch as this is where I am currently sleeping as mentioned. Yep it was colored in black not only because I wanted but toddlers that I need to consider. At least it won't look messy all the time.

For the center table, I just bought it last month. Initially, I wanted a pre black one but since here in hubby's hometown choices are limited. There are few that are black but made in a glass and don't suit my taste. So, indeed, up in this small coffee table instead, the husband couldn't understand why I bought it. He said it was too expensive and small that only two plates could fit.

Me? I was like, Why? you won't serve a meal on the visitors right? Just drinks and sandwiches maybe. So the size is just fine.

Of course I wouldn't admit that even I question myself, lol! Yet , I was too tired already at that time so I picked it.

441420831_816597377059560_6364280665236120181_n.jpg

The dining table is of course still black, easy to clean and maintained. Next month, I will add a glass on the top to avoid scratches.

Also a division on the living room and dining area. As of now and as you can see in the above photo, it was still open 😆.

441951491_333904343061969_1855916484869008200_n.jpg

Really? A black fridge??, husband asked me.

Of course, I don't like seeing colorful things in our house. Rather basic colors to make it minimalist and pleasant to my eyes.

He just laughed as he knew what I wanted. As a matter of fact, all the kitchen utensils that he bought were black.

438171736_1727077814781596_4830146995417238513_n.jpg

Sorry, as it was messy. Took this photo and sent it to the husband before and was frying some eggs (not so perfect.). Yep, our kitchen tiles were also black 😆.

Supposedly, I will be buying a black curtain, but it's still summer (last month). So I opted into light colors that would give a fresh and bright aura.

441259465_4519452488279179_2775055822333810079_n.jpg

I only bought this online, so I was kind of disappointed after hanging up. It was uneven!😫. I chatted with the seller and she was willing to replace the item but found it a hassle on my part. That means I needed to go at the affiliated courier and commuting now was not that easy! I mean going up and down the jeepney, it needs a lot of effort for a pregnant woman!

441325264_2085039765216319_2561214570052543577_n.jpg

To solve the issue, I placed the uneven pair at the window behind the couch. It was much better!

Speaking of wall paint, that's what I've mentioned above. It was the painters choice 🤣, beige and dark brown to be exact.

How about you? Do you love decorating your home? Is there a specific theme you want to achieve?

Lead image was edited using Canva
All photos are mine otherwise stated
Footer credit to Sensiblecast

Sort:  

Ang cute .
Pro pag ako mag decorate, bet ko black and white, Yung modern and elegant style na interior hehe .
Yun ay kung magkabahay ako 😂

Kayang kaya mo Yan madam!
Ikaw pa ba

I love the black theme too. Hey it's easier to maintain, goes with mostly anything, don't have to worry so much about stains and I think you can go longer without cleaning.

Haha yes, that days without cleaning 🤣

Of course, I don't like seeing colorful things in our house. Rather basic colors to make it minimalist and pleasant to my eyes.

Is that a filipina thing. I don't how lack of colour things make something minimalist.

You have a fridge freezer like ours but ours is stainless silver colour. I love seeing how your house has progressed and now furnished...

But those curtains Lhes, really aren't they a bit bright!

Haha, well I can say it's more on aging! Lol, the older I get, the simple I want!

Ahh, and maybe lots of foods on your fridge 😜

Our home looks like a home now, slowly, hehe.

Curtains is for summer theme 😁

!PIZZA

Curtains is for summer theme 😁

Oh summer is a time for colours then?

Oo, so it won't be too hot 🔥

Yes in hot countries I have it all dark at the windows to keep sun out, even blackout curtains

PIZZA!

$PIZZA slices delivered:
@lhes(1/5) tipped @tengolotodo

 14 days ago  

Simplicity is always best, and I think a black theme always stands out. It's more suitable with adequate lighting, as black can make the room seem smaller. Luckily you don't have that problem.

Thanks for sharing this lovely post with us:)
Minimalist Cover Gif-7.jpg

Your home is looking nice and it's good that you are not fretting over things :) Black is a nice color that goes with anything :) Enjoy your homing hehe. !LuV

Ok na Rin nman kahit ganyan ang kulay. Hehehe