Drawing A Line To Receiving Gifts - KISS 110

in The MINIMALIST24 days ago

There are so many ways one can show that they love, care and appreciate someone, and one of them is by gift giving. You can say that it's their love language and they enjoy doing it.
If I am to guess, I would say that there's no one who do not like gifts. I might be right or wrong. Well if you don't, I personally love giving gifts especially surprise gifts and receiving too. I always appreciate every gift I receive, no matter how little they are. What gets to me most is not really the gift but for the person to be so kind enough to send me a gift.


There are some people who are so into giving out gifts. In fact it has become their lifestyle and they do it at will
They do not have to wait for special occasions before gifting you things from chocolates to ice cream, candy, a novel, clothes, a movie ticket, just about anything.

Like I wrote earlier, I love it when someone gifts me but it is not every gift that I receive. I'm aware that people give out gifts based on some reasons. It can be that the person is trying to win you over, impress you or just love doing so and so many other things.

Now if the person has an ulterior motive for gifting me which is to impress or win me over, then I'll politely decline such gifts while letting the person know that using gifts as a means to impress isn't really ideal and should be stopped forthwith. Inasmuch as I love gifts, I won't be bought by it at all or accept any gift that will put me in a discomfort position. I know it might hurt the person's feelings but I have to be honest and save myself the stress of giving something in return or agreeing to do something for the gifts which I might not be comfortable with.
One shouldn't be put under pressure to return the kind gesture which someone has given them via gifts. If that is done then the true meaning of gift giving is lost, it's now trade by barter.


Years ago, I had a friend whom I noticed that his love language was giving gifts. E was always looking out for me, getting me gifts at every slightest opportunity. We were cool as friends, not dating but I knew he was so into me and wanted something serious but I didn't. I just liked him as a friend, nothing more but he won't have any of it. Each time he requests that we take the friendship a little further and I say no, he would begin to rant, always saying that he did this and got that for me, and would end it with whether he wasn't good enough to be my man. 🤣. You know some people always feel that they are entitled to things. Even after all his rants I'll still stand my grounds.


But one day I decided to stop accepting the stuffs he gets me and when he requested to know my reasons for doing so I had to let him know that I truly appreciate the care, and kind gestures but that I no longer feel comfortable accepting them. I further told him that I prefer us being friends with no strings attached. I made him understand that his approach to gifting is not really ideal and that if I desire for us to take the friendship a step further, it wouldn't be because of the gifts but that I really want to.

He didn't show if he was hurt or not, I knew he was. no doubt but I needed to put things straight, in white and black for us to understand the level we were so he won't continue to assume that he's doing me a favor by gifting me. We continued to be friends but the gifts stopped coming and it was such a great relief.
Did I later accept for us to date? Well I'll leave that to your imagination., lol.

I appreciate your visit and would love to read your comments.

***.


Still the #threadsaddict 😂



Images Are Mine


Posted Using InLeo Alpha

Sort:  

Well said ma👏👏.
It's best to decline the gifts once you sense that the person wants more from you and you aren't willing to give.
#dreemport

Exactly, dear. I like setting the records straight so everyone will understand.
I appreciate your contribution.

!BBH

@meyateingi! Your Content Is Awesome so I just sent 1 $BBH (Bitcoin Backed Hive) to your account on behalf of @luchyl. (1/20)

When it comes to gifting, you see people that gift you just so they can snuggle up to you or win your favour, I have a problem with them. Just tell me your mind. There's no point trying to bribe me. If it's something I can do, I will. But if it's not, don't put me in a right corner.
#dreemerforlife

You understand my point. It's one of the things that pisses me off about someone. Don't come all nice and loving bearing gifts expecting me to accept, no way. Gifts don't buy love.

I appreciate your wonderful contribution.
!BBH

Yes, gifts can also cause problems. A gift should actually be selfless.

I think it also changes over time because you change yourself. I realised a few years ago that people were much happier when I brought them a jar of honey as a gift, or a small homemade picture, than a bought bottle of wine, chocolate etc. It was just something I made myself. It was simply produced by myself. It had a personalised touch.

For myself, I now appreciate the intangible gifts more and more. If someone takes the time to visit me, does something together or has a good conversation, offline of course, then I see that as a gift. As I said, as you get older, your priorities change.

Yes, gifts can also cause problems. A gift should actually be selfless.

So true. Some people have had to deal with so many problems because of the gifts they received. I wouldn't want that at all.

I think it also changes over time because you change yourself. I realised a few years ago that people were much happier when I brought them a jar of honey as a gift, or a small homemade picture, than a bought bottle of wine, chocolate etc. It was just something I made myself. It was simply produced by myself. It had a personalised touch.

Yes, some people appreciate it more when you gift them something you made yourself. I, sometimes do 😂

For myself, I now appreciate the intangible gifts more and more. If someone takes the time to visit me, does something together or has a good conversation, offline of course, then I see that as a gift. As I said, as you get older, your priorities change.

This is another angle, you know these days, people, though not all, are so much engaged their daily tasks that making time to show these little acts of kindness seems a little difficult.
Just yesterday I visited a close friend whom I haven't seen for a long time and I tell you, she was so happy and appreciated my visit. I was happy as well because I have actually missed her 😂

I appreciate your visit and the wonderful comment. Have a splendid weekend.
!BBH

I love your stance on giving an receiving gifts. Once I sense the gifts have strings attached to them, I decline from receiving them. I just love my simple life, no complications because of gifts, hehehe!
#dreemerforlife

My dear, I don't want any issues that will arise because of gifts, abeg. Let me manage the ones I gift myself 😂

Hat guy wanted to choke out your life by giving gifts but thank God you stood your ground 😂. Funny fact is that when he finally gets what he wants, the giftings will reduce 😂

It's also good that you were polite when trying to cut off the gift giving. This is very nice

Hat guy wanted to choke out your life by giving gifts but thank God you stood your ground 😂. Funny fact is that when he finally gets what he wants, the giftings will reduce 😂

My dear, he wasn't informed about me, I can't be bought by gifts, no way.

It's also good that you were polite when trying to cut off the gift giving. This is very nice

Yeah, it was a tough one but I had to do it.

Thanks for coming around and do enjoy your weekend.

You're welcome sis. Enjoy yours as well

Sure, I will.

Now if the person has an ulterior motive for gifting me which is to impress or win me over, then I'll politely decline such gifts while letting the person know that using gifts as a means to impress isn't really ideal and should be stopped forthwith

Awwwwwn! So there are still ladies like this?
The people I know, they'll chop the gift because it's a 'normal' thing and still reject the person 😎

There are many more like us. I no wan chop gift wey go choke me for throat so that I can comfortably drink water and drop cup. 🤣

Hahahahah😂
It's so good you're holding to that room righteous lifestyle.
Weldone ma