You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: How I simplified my language learning process

in The MINIMALIST • 11 months ago

If I already have a partner, how am I gonna get a foreign partner? And let's presume I don't have a partner, and let's also presume I get myself a foreign partner—what happens if they know the real reason behind my interest in them? Isn't it transactional?

🤣😂

I LOVE languages, and I gave up learning several languages, but I gave up for all the reasons you've mentioned here. I studied Spanish in high school and I was good at it, but could never really interact with a Spanish speaker. I also did conversational German and could interact with tourists at my resort, which I was good at. I tried to learn Dutch when I lived in the Netherlands. I could write and read some, but not speak it. I studied French, and could write specific things and speak about specific topics, but I didn't see much progress. I started Cebuano (Visayan and a little Tagalog) while living in the Philippines. The thing is, I have not retained any of them, simply because I do not practice. Interestingly, when I was learning French, all the German knowledge that I thought I forgot resurfaced, and the same when I started learning the Filipino languages my French resurfaced and a little Spanish.

I don't know what to do anymore.
Maybe finding the right minimalist learning style would save me... I really want to be a dual-language speaker in this lifetime 😅

Sort:  

Wow, that's a lot of languages! And lots of places too! 😲
And it's not surprising practicing French revived German knowledge, they have the same root after all! I wanted to learn German too as my 4th language, alongside French, but later decided against it, not to mix it up all! Although I had no idea Philipino was connected to French. That is curious indeed!

Being bilingual is quite fun I'd say. You notice things a bit differently depending on the language and sometimes think differently in two languages. Some emotions are better expressed in a particular language. It's like having your arsenal of expressions grown into a bulkier one. If you can manage the time, make a plan, go for it! 😇

I had no idea Philipino was connected to French.

Haha! No, there was no connection between the two languages. I think my mind was just playing games with me. What I find, is that whichever new language I start learning, the knowledge of the last one just resurfaces.

It's like having your arsenal of expressions grown into a bulkier one.

I like that expression, it's so true. ✅