Nailcare and nail polish collection - The Minimalist blogging ideas 6

in The MINIMALIST2 years ago

Hello everyone and welcome to another blog post. Today I am taking part in The Minimalist #KISS (Keep it Simple & Smart) tag where every week you get a few blog ideas/topics to write about. HERE you can check out more about it if you're interested in participating.


What are some of you minimalist tips on keeping fingernails well-groomed in a natural looking way for a Minimalist who spends much time doing DIY projects and household chores?

I feel like starting this topic with a little bit of a backstory... In my early twenties I really got into doing my nails and collecting a lot of nail polishes. My collection had somewhere around 60-70, maybe even 80 bottles of nail polishes. I was into nail art as well so I pretty much had every color possible and multiple shades of different colors. I loved it and doing nail art was so much fun for a long time but at some point I realized I was over it. I would still paint my nails all the time but I was just using one color. Slowly I started to get rid off nail polishes - I would throw away old ones and gave some to my friend who was also into nail art at the time. Every time I was about to use a nail polish and I notice it's getting gloopy, I made sure to get rid off it and not put it back in my collection. I took me some time but my collection was getting smaller and now, for years, I am making sure to keep it at 8-10, it's just what works best for me...


20220509_115219.jpg

This is my current nail polish collection. As a "real minimalist" I probably should have zero but this is minimalism my way. :D I am very happy with these color options as I pretty much always have my nails painted and this gives me enough options - I like to use some colors such as red and shimmery/glittery ones during winter and fall and I like the bright colors for spring and summer. Compared to what I have in the past, this is very manageable. I also go through nail polishes and actually use them up before they expire which is hard to achieve when you have 60+ bottles.


Tip One: If you're like me and you love to grow your nails longer, I think that some kind of protective base coat or nail treatment is a must! When my nails are getting quite long, I like to use two coats of this nail treatment I currently have, just to make sure my nails are well protected. Even if you like to keep your nails short but you do a lot of work with your hands or you need your nails to look presentable for work, these base coats and treatment are a great option.

Tip Two: use gloves while washing the dishes, cleaning or doing some kind of heavy work. This will keep your nails safe if you have a manicure done.


Tip Three: Keep a nail brush around especially if you're doing any kind of work where your hands get dirty, make sure to have some kind of nail brush to clean your nails. As I mentioned, I like to have long nails but I also do a lot of gardening and I tried using gloves but it's not really working. For me gardening is a form of connection with nature and having gloves is not only uncomfortable but to me it almost feels like a barrier between me and my garden, as silly as it might sounds. With all the garden work and long nail, you can imagine how it looks like so I just use a hand soap and a nail brush to make sure my nails and nice and clean.


Fall/Winter colors
Spring/Summer colors

Tip Four: Use gentle products... We wash our hand multiple times a day so using a gentle hand soap is really important. I don't use any cuticle cream or anything like that but if you feel like you need it, instead of buying that specific product you can use oils - coconut, jojoba, even olive oil works. I just use a hand cream which is also one of the products I always have on hand but if you're trying to be more minimal, you can use oils instead of hand creams too!


Thank you for checking out this post, let me know if you have more tips and tricks for nailcare and I am also curious to know if you like to do your own manicure/pedicure, go to salons or just keep your nails simple and natural?


banner.png

Sort:  

Your content has been voted as a part of Encouragement program. Keep up the good work!

Use Ecency daily to boost your growth on platform!

Support Ecency
Vote for new Proposal
Delegate HP and earn more

Hello @nikolina,
You have nailed this question 💯 %
Great tips and I relate to your story so well. I have always had a collection of nail polish. Every country I live in. I came back to the UK and found a bag full of various colours and somehow they are all in a good state.
I appreciate your tips more than you could imagine. My days of growing long nails ended decades ago, yet I love to see them on other people. My nails are naturally short in height,(so they look better with a little growth) but I had some recent health issues that caused them to split vertically. I'm working on my health with vitamins, and I hope to take better care, and I will use these minimalist tips to guide me.
I thank you so much for getting involved and taking the time to share your expert knowledge.
See you around. 😁

Thank you so much for your lovely words, I am glad you found these tips helpful!

Health is definitely a priority and I hope you feel better soon with all the steps you're taking, these tips can be a nice addition along the way. Pretty nails are cool but health is the most important. Wish you all the best! :)

Thanks for your lovely reply😊


The rewards earned on this comment will go directly to the person sharing the post on Twitter as long as they are registered with @poshtoken. Sign up at https://hiveposh.com.

image.png
Has sido curado por @visualblock / You've been curated by @visualblock
Bienvenidas delegaciones / Delegations welcome
Encuentra nuestra comunidad aquí / Find our community here
Trail de Curación / Curation Trail

wow you used to have a lot and its cook that you able to get rid them. i used to like different colors too but the older i get, the more i realized that the one i always wear are red and french nails.

I agree, since I don't do nail art anymore, I just keep the colors I know I like to wear. Having a simple collection makes life easier. :D

I love your collection plus you have very good taste taste eyes for colours. I could spend 10 hours trying to pick a nail polish colour. You've inspired me to have my own nail polish collection.😇

Thank you so much! I guess over the years I figured out what colors I like to wear so it might be a trial and error process until you find your best shades of nail polish but it can also be a lot of fun trying out different colors. :)

Exactly. Having fun trying put different colours and living with the regret of using the wrong colour for some days. 😁