A very practical small space.

IMG_20231110_160855.jpg


Where I used to live I had several nice pantries to store my cups, plates, pots and pans and even food. I remember that the owner of that apartment (because it was rented) made wooden doors for each pantry and inside the floor of each pantry had a white ceramic tile with orange trim that matched the doors very well. My husband and I bought and chose that tile for the pantry and bathroom.

Once I moved back two years ago, I realized that I will no longer have that space I had before to store my things, since the apartment we are in has no pantries, just a small counter and a space under it.

At first it was a bit of a challenge to know where we would store our things. Since I knew this was the case, I took on the task of giving away and throwing away several of them that I didn't use or hadn't used for a while. I kept the essentials.

To store the ones I would leave with me, I used a plastic box with an airtight lid that we bought once and was used to store food. Now we use it to put most of our kitchen items in. Inside it doesn't hold much other than plates, some glasses, a small pot and the cake mixer.

InShot_20231110_163250518.jpg


I decided to leave out only what we use on a daily basis: our coffee cups, plates, a pot and the occasional container. This has been too practical for me because I have everything at hand and I don't need, for example, to search through a pile of things where the lid of the container will be. I look to stack the smaller ones inside the larger ones. In this 35 CM wide by 50 CM long space, I have the plates, cups, glasses, some pots, the lightning bolt, a measuring cup, my chopping board and the pasta strainer.

With the cutlery I do the same way. I give some away and others I keep on hand in a plastic cutlery tray that I wash constantly.

IMG_20231110_161017.jpg


Tidying up like this and leaving out only the essentials has been good for me, because it's easier and faster when it's time to wash up. Also, I have realized that some of the things I have stored are not really necessary because I haven't used them for a long time and sometimes I don't even remember they are there.

I really like the space I have available for cooking and storage. I don't need large spaces for that.

I know that each house has its own style, the way the furniture is arranged, but I think that the more shelves and objects, the more dust and more to clean. So not having it is a relief for me 💜

Divisor morado.jpg

png_20220630_044711_0000.png


Text of my authorship. The photos are my own, taken with my phone Realme 7. Edited with my phone's editor. Collage created in InShot. Text translated using DeepL.com

Splitter created by me in GIMP 💟

Sort:  

This is one of the issues that stress me a lot, because for me the less stuff you have in the house, the better, but the reality is that in the kitchen even if you don't use something daily, you may need it at some point, so it's complicated. My parents are the kind of people who have a container for every occasion, so there are many, too many, I would say, but they always end up being useful.

I hear you 🤭 That part stresses me out too and that's why I simplify myself like that. There are things that I also keep "just in case" 😅 I have them in that box. But I have gotten out of many of them and I think I will continue to get out of them in the future 😄

This is one of the problem in our home too, I mean, we have space actually. But my Mom doesn't want to throw even those old stuffs he has. And coz of that, they are just piling up and its always a mess in the house. At least with you, you will let go those unused things or give them away to have more space in the house. But Mom, arghh, I don't know haha. But maybe one day she can finally let go of them too. Tidying up things like what you did will give new appearance to the house coz it will become bigger, much neat and organize.

I hear you. There are things my mom doesn't want to let go of either 😅 She wants to have them always. She has memories and feelings about those things.

Thank you for your words my dear. I am trying to keep the place where I live as best I can and according to my circumstances and how I feel best. Definitely with less stuff I feel better. Sending you a big hug 💟

I love the cup you use to store the cutlery. It so simple and functional.

Sometimes, we find ourselves in situations like yours the choice you made of giving away the unnecessary stuff was the right thing to do. Well done dear!

Aaww thank you very much. I'm glad you like it. That cutlery tray has been with us for several years and has survived several moves. Thanks for commenting, cutie 💟