KISS #108 || 5 Guidelines To Keeping It Smart And Simple

in The MINIMALIST22 days ago

Growing up, my minimalist journey was influenced by my parents. Before moving into our own home. We grew up without the privilege of having our oooms. We moved into our own house when it was not fully completed. There were only two bedrooms at the time(one for my parents and one for the children) but we all worked together to make it into a home.

I got my first minimalist experience from my mum and her teachings, I can maintain my minimalist lifestyle even in my own home.

Here is an outline of some of the things I learned that have been helping my minimalist lifestyle.

DECLUTTERING

One thing that I don't like is a cluttered room. It makes everyone smell funny and very stuffy. My mum taught me not to leave clothes littering the floor as it's one of the things she detests. Sometimes when my siblings and I come back tired from school and litter the floor with our school socks or shoes, the sound of her voice is enough to get us scrambling to quickly pick them up and place them in the space.
improve. So I now declutter my home and I love how it makes my home look

pexels-alex-tyson-919593032-19966784.jpg

Image Source

ORGANIZING MY SPACE

Having a clean space is often made possible through organizing and putting things in the correct order.

Though growing up, as children that we were there was every tendency for us to disorganize the room but then when we wanted to arrange them, we all knew where everythinwentnt It is unlikely that you find a book in space for clothes and vice-versa.

DONATING

It is a norm for us to give things out now and then. While we didn't have homes for the less privileged back then, we did live in a community where people around were free with one another.

There are children in some families that might need one of two things ranging from clothes to shoes and many more. So we give out clothes or shoes that are o longer our size. We also receive gifts from our neighbors on some occasions.

Other household items or kitchen items are also given out especially when we have more of the same type.

I find this tradition helpful as I see no use in keeping things when it's clear we do not need them or make use of them.

INVESTING IN MULTI-PURPOSE AND SUSTAINABLE ITEMS

I earned this later on. With technology and its advancement, there are now items that serve several purposes. Gone are the days of buying three different items when all has been infused into one. It not only saves cost but also saves space.

pexels-cottonbro-3832031.jpg

Image Source

HAVING A TO-DO-LIST

I would say this is the most important of all for me. Having a list it what to do helps me with time management. It had also helped in the aspect of making a budget.

Making a budget has helped me save more and stopped me from buying on impulse. It also helps with time management. It also helps in creating financial stability and helps to avoid overspending.

I believe these and many other tips are useful for someone who wants to embrace the minimalist lifestyle.

Thank you all for reading.

Sort:  

These are all great points leading up to one thing... 'I don't want to feel overwhelmed'. I enjoy space too and having a list to gloss over for the day. Hehehe.

You got that right. Thank you so much for coming around.

 21 days ago  

Minimalist Cover Gif-7.jpg

Thank you for having me.

Talk about it girl!
I also hate clutter so much but it’s almost unavoidable if you have brothers

#dreemerforlife

Hahaha, you are right. If you happen to be the only girl amongst them, you are done for 😂😂😂.

Thank you for coming around sis.

You’re welcome sis

Very practical tips. I can see how my wife has similar rules she follows. Unluckily for her I am a clutterer. Yes I like to keep things clean for sure, but my workspace is always messy , and if it is cleaned up I lose a lot of my connection of thought :D A bit freaky for sure and it irritates my spouse to no end :D

Cheers form a fellow @dreemerforlife

Hahaha I bet she is already used to you having a messy workspace at this point.

Thank you for coming around awesome dreemer.

I think we have the same mom. I learned this early from her. Over time we would sort things out all the time and give away the ones we didn't need. I have found that decluttering and arranging helps me mentally put things into perspective.

I thank God for her every day.

Bless your mum.

!LADY

View or trade LOH tokens.


@kei2, you successfully shared 0.1000 LOH with @rukkie and you earned 0.1000 LOH as tips. (2/4 calls)

Use !LADY command to share LOH! More details available in this post.

The tips are simple and awesome. That idea of donation is so good. I was screening my wardrobe a few days ago and discovered some clothes that I haven't worn for almost a year. I concluded that it is time to give them out. Having to-do list is also very helpful. In fact, all the points are very helpful in keeping one's living simple.

#dreemerforlife

Totally on points. All these are just what leads to living simple.

Space is very important even for extra comfort. Nice one sis.