The simple things that make me happy

in The MINIMALIST7 months ago

⬇️

I have always been the one who chooses to make herself happy. There are times that life's challenges hit so hard that everything chokes. In those trying times, I strive hard to find my own happiness.

Happiness doesn't necessarily have to come from big achievements or big events in our lives. Happiness can be genuinely grateful for the little things in our lives. Sometimes, all I do is calm down and gently immerse myself in the beauty of these things. Here's a list of five things that I am grateful for and that make me happy:

IMG_20231023_112553_539.jpg

The sky
I have always been a lover of nature; it inspires me. Nature is like a gentle lover to me; it whispers to me, tells me to calm down, and soothes my soul.

One element of nature that I love is the sky. Every day when I look out at the blue, clear sky, it tells me that it is a new day, that it is a new dawn, and that it is okay to try again.

The sky signifies "Don't give up!" to me. It is a symbol of hope.

IMG_20231023_112532_000.jpg

The Beaded Bangles

These beaded bangles belonged to my favorite aunt, who is now late. We had such a cordial relationship that I fell sick when I heard of her death.

She was my number-one supporter and cheerleader. She always had one or more comforting words for me whenever I ran like a scaredy cat to her.

It was a shock when she died, and the only thing left of her are these beaded bangles she left at my place the day before she died.

These beaded bangles have always made me feel like, even though she isn't on earth again, she's always with me, watching every decision I make and also offering her silent support to me.

IMG_20231023_112505_819.jpg

**My Body Spray and Perfume Oils
**
Scents have always been therapeutic for me. They help relieve my migraines and stress; hence, I have always spent enough money on them.

Scents and fragrances give me enough energy to start my day. It has helped me feel good and relieve my bad moods.

On one occasion, I had a fallout with someone. I was urged to get dressed by my sister. So, I got into the bathroom, took a warm bath with scented soap, and afterwards sprayed some perfume on my body.

Surprisingly, I felt better at the end.

IMG_20231023_113042_332.jpg

My Phone

This gadget is something I cannot do without. No, I am not addicted to it, but I need it to perform various daily tasks like checking on my loved ones, setting alarms and reminders, and so on.

How did I know the value of my phone? I spent a year or more without a phone. My phone got spoiled suddenly. I had no plans to get a new phone, and the phone was too expensive to repair. Then, I wasn't doing well financially.

I had no choice but to stay without a phone for that period. Trust me, it was like being thrown in prison; I had no access to social media or the internet.
I had to rely on information from people to be informed about the latest trends in the world.

IMG_20231024_082701_409.jpg

My eyeglasses

I most definitely need my eyeglasses every day to see clearly. Seeing clearly means I will be able to perform my tasks efficiently.

A day without my eyeglasses means that I would have to be squinting to see things very well, and I'd get a headache from squinting often.

These little things are just a few of the things I am grateful for.

Thanks for coming to my blog!

⬇️ ALL IMAGES ARE MINE
Sort:  

Congratulations @tofunmi185! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain And have been rewarded with New badge(s)

You distributed more than 10 upvotes.
Your next target is to reach 50 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Thank you

Awesome work @tofunmi185! Your first upvotes on Hive are well received and making a positive impact. Keep it up!

Thanks for sharing these with the contest. It's great that you took the time to analyse some of the simple things that are most valuable to you.

All good wishes:)

2.jpg
Image belongs to millycf1976 and was manipulated in Canva

Thank you so much

Those are nice items, especially that of your aunt's beads. So sorry for your loss.
Thanks dear for sharing.

Thank you so much.😊