Beautiful butterflies

in Photography Lovers5 months ago (edited)

IMG_2474.jpg

IMG_2472.jpg

A drive up Signal Hill down in Cape Town is honestly one of the greatest places (in my opinion) to view the gorgeous African sunsets over the city, however it is also just a great spot to view the city during the day.
One day we decided to head up there after a busy week to take a load off and I found "The bee tree"

More than bees though, this tree was inundated with the most Beautiful butterflies ever! I of course spent the longest time ever hunched over with my camera, photographing all the pretty insects. 🦋

We delight in the beauty of the butterfly, but rarely admit the changes it has gone through to achieve that beauty!
  • Maya Angelou

IMG_2388.jpg

IMG_2404.jpg

I don't know much about the names of most species but I after a bit of research I believe these are generally called the "painted lady" or "Vanessa cardui" for the scientific people and they are apparently quite common butterflies.

A little interesting fact about these guys is Painted lady butterflies can fly more than 160km each day while they are migrating. Those little wings work hard!!

IMG_2412.jpg

I find it so fascinating how incredible nature is, look at the beautiful contrast between the orange wings of these little guys and the purple flowers.

They also apparently love thistles.

IMG_2456.jpg

Be like a butterfly and a flower - beautiful and sought after, yet unassuming and gentle! -Jarod Knitz

IMG_2407.jpg

These gentle little creatures always bring me much joy and just sitting watching them flutter from flower to flower brings so much peace. It reminds you to slow down in life and enjoy the little things, smell the pretty flowers, sit and watch the butterflies and enjoy bumble bees buzzing around.

IMG_2465.jpg

Hopefully these photos I captured bring you all as much joy and peace as they brought to me the time that I took them!

My Post.png

Photography instagram:
https://www.instagram.com/ajchampz.photography/

Sort:  

Congratulations @ajchampz! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain And have been rewarded with New badge(s)

You published more than 10 posts.
Your next target is to reach 20 posts.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Congratulations, your post has been added to Pinmapple! 🎉🥳🍍

Did you know you have your own profile map?
And every post has their own map too!

Want to have your post on the map too?

  • Go to Pinmapple
  • Click the get code button
  • Click on the map where your post should be (zoom in if needed)
  • Copy and paste the generated code in your post (Hive only)
  • Congrats, your post is now on the map!

It's always lovely to see pictures of butterflies and these are so cute, I loved them!