The First Heralds of Spring and the Movie Set | Street Photography #5

20240227-DSCF7980.jpg


Greetings, photography lovers! I am here with a new selection of photos I took yesterday. It was so beautiful and satisfying to see the first heralds of spring - first flowers rose in the grass and early trees are blooming in white.

For me it's always been the favorite time of year - when everything is ready and eager to wake up from hibernation and the period of growth is ahead. In the past few years snow used to surprise again in April but I'm really hoping this time we won't have the resurgence of winter and the nature will be allowed to bloom in peace.

At the Belgrade fortress I stumbled onto a movie set, they were filming a scene that included Nazi Germans from the looks of it. Under the fortress walls, next to the ruins of some old stone structure and on the slope of the small hill two soldiers were advancing with their guns ready and the man from the crew was behind them, releasing from the machine the smoke that covered the area. I planned on having my Tai Chi workout there so I had to wait until the crew finished the scene and went on a break.

On a particularly spooky looking tree, I saw the crow land on it and starts pecking. It was a great scene, the bare tree was contrasting against the sky and I waited full five minutes for a crow to pose in the best angle and position. A friend after seeing the photo immediately said it would be a great fit for the Edgar Allan Poe "The Raven's" book cover. I had to edit it in black and white to make it additionally moody.

It was a wonderful morning with plenty of photographic opportunities. I hope you enjoy the results. Photos taken with Fuji X-Pro2 + 35mm F/2 lens.


Here's a short description of the project challenge this post is part of:
- Post 15 photo blogs in 30 days
- Show at least 10 photos per blog, no matter how good they are
- Act as if shooting the film camera, one roll (battery) per day, limited number of shots, minimal attention to reviewing images on the LCD in real time


20240226-DSCF7930.jpg

20240227-DSCF7935.jpg

20240227-DSCF7937.jpg

20240227-DSCF7958-2.jpg

20240227-DSCF7973.jpg

20240227-DSCF7982.jpg

20240227-DSCF7984.jpg

20240227-DSCF7999.jpg

TaiChi2024Kalemegdan.gif

20240227-DSCF7989-2.jpg

20240227-DSCF7991.jpg

Sort:  

What an ingenious challenge you are part of, the story you bring us is great, the photos of the soldiers, the smoke, the slant, everything is a very well taken care of detail, and the creepy tree with the raven definitely look like from Allan Poe's story.

I congratulate you for such an incredible job, and for the landscapes you have close by to capture these images.

I wish I was there few minutes earlier for the scene with the soldiers, they were already finishing up. Glad you enjoyed the photos! :)

The third shot of the woman in the light is absolutely fantastic. I use X-T2 for street as well, it's an awesome little camera.

Thank you! I use X-Pro2 but yeah both cameras are well suited for street shooting. :)

These are brilliant - thanks for sharing them @alcibiades

Annabelle 😊

Thank you, glad you liked them! :)

So beautiful pictures

Glad you like them!