Bird photography - Seagulls, swans and a couple really golden goldeneye photos

in Photography Lovers4 years ago

Linnut  80.jpg

One of two swans which were simming towards the shore. I took this photo only because I tried to get a photo where the swan looks like it would be impaled.

I got close enough and I put my camera down. I turned my back and suddnely heard a loud noise as one swan was trying to get in air.

Linnut  81.jpg

As swans are big birds, they don't get up in the air too easily - and they don't start flying for fun. I was surprised. Why did the swan decided to fly?

Linnut  82.jpg

The answer came down flying. You can see the seagull flying towards the swan. The seagulls had a nest on the rocks nearby and they saw the swans as a threat. One of the seagulls was diving towards the swan, which decided to escape quickly.

Even though the swan is larger, it can't fight off a flying seagull.

Linnut  83.jpg

Did I already tell you that it takes a while until the swan runs fast enough to fly?

Linnut  84.jpg

RUUN TOO THEE HILLS, RUN FOR YOUR LIVEeeeEEEeeeS!

Linnut  85.jpg

Still running.. on the left you can see the seagull attacking the second swan.

Linnut  86.jpg

Still running.. and running.. and running.
At this point, my old and slow memory card informed me that the buffer is full and I can't get any more photos. The running swan took off, left swan started swimming away and the seagull let them be.

And as I got back home, I bought a faster SD card.
Goddamn SD cards and their "Speed up to **Mb/s"
IT DOESN'T HELP ME IF IT'S READING SPEED YOU MOTHERFUCKERS.

Linnut  87.jpg

The swan on the left, leaving in shame.

Linnut  89.jpg

Shame! Shame!

Linnut  91.jpg

Soon after this episode I spotted two common goldeneyes. I'll be just calling them goldeneyes after this. One male, one female.

Linnut  92.jpg

They seem to be together. Not sure if you could say they're in love, as if I've understood right, the males abandon the females while the female is incubating.

A somewhat typical marriage.

Linnut  93.jpg

No no, don't look at me so judgingly. I'm sure your relationship will last. Your love is true.

Linnut  94.jpg

The guy seems like a typical stalker though. You know the type of guy who just seem to be following you everywhere and you see them behind rocks and bushes?

Linnut  95.jpg

Even the black-headed gull thinks the male goldeneye looks weird.

Linnut  96.jpg

This looks almost like a chase. The male is getting closer.

Linnut  97.jpg

... and closer....

Linnut  98.jpg

... and closer!

Actually, there was a third goldeneye on the right, another male. Quite soon after the couple arrived, the "third wheel" goldeneye left flying.

Linnut  99.jpg

No interest in being a third wheel in other bird's relationship.

Linnut  100.jpg

Maybe next year.

Linnut  101.jpg

Then you'll get your chance to get laid and dump the female with your offspring.

Linnut  102.jpg

Nice move, asshole.

Linnut  103.jpg

This is a good practice on how you'll leave your mate.

Linnut  104.jpg

Or was the female your ex?

The female you banged last summer?

Linnut  105.jpg

"Oh shit hope she didn't recognize, I haven't paid the alimonies".

Bird life isn't easy. If it isn't seagulls attacking you, you'll get dumped by males and driven away by females.

Sort:  

Hahahahah loved the bird adventures! Never good to be the third wheel lol

Yep, birds have always tales to tell as long as we remember to take more than one photo :)

With photos we grasp a passing moment of someones story.

Yes, photography is so amazing because in one image you can say it all.. Without the words. It is trully a great way to transpose feelings and emotions

Hahaha - yeah... SD cards, man! Nice job with the swans, though! Those seagulls are kind of bastards, really. Did you hear about the ones that discovered they could pick the eyes out of baby sea lions and then kill them, once they're blind?

I've found my SD card love, it's so much faster than my old SD card that I'm not even sure why I used my old SD card for so long.

And seagulls are bastards. Birds are bastards. I didn't know about the baby sea lions, but I'm not surprised. Just like different cute tiny birds kill other animals. Like the bird called "great tit" can kill and eat small bats. Or if another bird attempts to check out the great tits nest, the great tit can peck the head open and eat the birds brains.

Goddamn birds are birds.

Well, they are dinosaurs. You have to expect a bit of viciousness!

I seriously researched the best SD for my new camera. There are sites that do compatibility testing for write speed and such. Cost me nearly $70 (about €55), but it's been worth it. Glad you found one that works well!

I have picked your post for my daily hive voting initiative, Keep it up and Hive On!!

Congratulations @apsu! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You distributed more than 23000 upvotes. Your next target is to reach 24000 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your board And compare to others on the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Support the HiveBuzz project. Vote for our proposal!