Just Another Day : City "Face Lift"

It's Taking Shape

I have been walking through this part of the city every day since July when they restarted charging parking fees again. There is a huge parking space nearby where it is free to park, and these days, when something is free, won't we take it? I will! LOL.

Anyway since then, the COVID restrictions have slightly eased and they proceeded with the beautification project in various parts of the city including this area near our residence. If you saw my post a few weeks back, they started putting new plants here and suddenly, there are new plants, trees and shrubs all over!

I remember thinking when I saw them planting these, these are just wild grass being cut in my country. Here, they invest a lot just to plant grass! For a time being I thought these won't survive the harsh desert summer, but they did! See, they are even showing some, what do we call these, flowers?

IMG_20201010_162242.jpg

During construction, I thought these colorful platforms were to be made into fountains and that part with faux grass were to be splash pods, but obviously, I am wrong.

IMG_20201010_162109.jpg

IMG_20201010_162128.jpg

That tree is where the laborers normally take refuge and hide from extreme heat. Can you see that water jug beneath the it? Anyway, I notice that the tree is now bearing some flowers or cones? I'm not really sure.

IMG_20201010_161948.jpg

Taking a closer look, glinted by the golden rays of the sun. Thanks, Mr. Sun!

IMG_20201010_161856.jpg


There have been various spots in the city where, for lack of better terms from me, they rehabilitated. This area has been full of laborers over the past months. Walking here morning and evening, I have seen this project progress. Sometimes I wanted to take more photos and make some sort of a timeline here, but I was afraid I'd get called out for it. 😅

There were very interesting moments like when a car will just stop by and they'd give food and drinks to these laborers. I've seen this not only once or twice, but several times. I really think it was nice. Working under the harsh summer heat was not something to be taken lightly.

Now the weather is a lot more pleasant. The project has been completed just in time for the residents to at least have somewhere newer to get some fresh air.

IMG_20201006_082659.jpg


This is my first ever post here at the Photography Lovers Community. Please don't tell me to make it my last too. 😅😂 I'm a total photography noob, who just takes random shots through my smartphone. These are all raw shots, not edits nor filters.

Until the next (should I dare again 🤭)!

❤️ Arlyn

divider.png

Many thanks to @bearone for this beautiful Hiveph badge!

Join and subscribe to the HivePh Community : Supporting Filipinos Worldwide

Join us in Discord.

Sort:  

Congratulations, your post has been added to Pinmapple! 🎉🥳🍍

Did you know every user has their own profile map?
And so does every post as well!

Want to have your post on the map too?

  • Go to Pinmapple
  • Click the get code button
  • Click on the map where your post should be (zoom in if needed)
  • Copy and paste the generated code in your post (Hive only)
  • Congrats, your post is now on the map!