The Holy Trinity church in Gergeti (Georgia) at the Caucasus mountains background

DSC00507 (Kopiowanie).jpg

The Holy Trinity church in Gergeti, observed on a sunny day of July 2015.

The church, built in the 14th century at an elevation of 2170 m is one of the most recognized landmarks of Georgia. This iconic view I present You now, however belongs to the past already, as the local authorities have built a tarmac road and a parking place. It is understandable, as they wanted to increase comfort and convenience both of the priests and tourists, but nevertheless a part of nature's beauty has disappeared - if not forever, then at least for decades.

I was very happy to see it as it used to be for many years. And I like it so much, that even I've made a big photo-wallpaper with it at my bedroom's wall ;)

Taken by Sony DSC-HX300, postedited but not postcreated in Luminar - both by myself.

Sort:  

Now that's a location for a church!

Indeed, the view is absolutely majestic. And, despite the place is being visited by numerous turists - it still offers enough place to contemplate the view being alone with nature and history!

What a beautiful place; seems so peaceful!