Holi Festival in Rajasthan - We want peace!

in Photography Lovers2 months ago (edited)

Hello to all!

I'm doing a photography book, and today I have choose two pages about Holi Festival. So I have looked into the folder about India 2019, and I have found many pics I haven't never seen!
I want to share some of them (between the thousands I have in my hard-disk) with you!

I have talked about Holi festival in one of my first post on Hive: Holi festival - India 2019.

March has started, and it is time to celebrate Holi again!
Holi symbolize life after winter, celebrating spring coming, and it is like a mix of our Italian Carnival and San Valentine day: people show love each other (to everyone they meet on the way), and streets are plenty of colorful powders, faces are colored and I felt a great joy to partecipate to this universal events! Everyone said 'Radha Radha', and you can find boys and girls who start to color your face with nuance of all colors! A great hymn to peace and diversity!
How not to love India?

Festival starts in cities temples....

and it continues, two days long, in every narrow streets! With carnival floats, cars, cows and a great joyful messy!

Children from terrace spray water on the crowd!

And you we'll get soaked not only from high floor!
(we had to protect expensive cameras with nylon bag).

Women on floats spreading powders on people:

And here some funny portraits! Legend says Krishna painted the pale face of his wife Radha because of he has jealous about her beauty, to protect her and also to resemble to her, and it is why all people scream 'Radha Radha' and we are all the same in this festival, no matter religion, color of skin and so on!

Children celebrates Holi also in school!

And all people, of all ages, partecipate!

At evening, they make fires near the river:

Remembering dead people leaving candles on the river surface:

Holi is also called the festival of the light, and they make fire also in city streets all the night!

Celebrating the new moon!

Radha Radha at all of you!

Pictures taken with a new Sony Alpha 7iii.
March 2019.

Sort:  

The festival must always be a memorial event been constantly celebrated

I watch Indian movies a lot and I've seen them celebrate holi festivals but watching these photos along with your explanation of the festival, I feel I know India better.

!LUV

barnabo73, sissim72 sent you LUV. 🙂 (1/4) tools | trade | connect | daily

Made with LUV by crrdlx.

It feels good to see so many people turn up for the Holi festival
I’d study more about it

Hinduism is very complex, but Holi festival refers to the story about Krisna and his wife Radha.

Very intresting Story bro ❤

So much is going on here, vivid!

Not sure would I like to be painted and splashed, but it's indeed a unique experience being there in person.

Thank you! Really!

Very intresting Story bro ❤V

This is so cool. I would love to go to India one day and experience Holi. I am hoping to make it to the Holi Festival here in Utah this year. It is in a few weeks. Hopefully the weather is nice.

Hermano su contenido es admirable y realmente me encanta...continúe así .

Muchas gracias!

Usted es buen Hivers

Great to see, I'll be capturing Holi this march hope to post more soon! Holi in Suriname

People are looking so excited about it. It's a day of enjoyment for all people I would like to read about story behind it.

a nice way to share happiness for indians

Amazing tradition, I'm not an Indian but I have always loved Holi , festival of color and light and i wished to participate in holi someday .
Happy Holi Celebration🧁

radha radha!

This type of festival always goes well and handle well. It is always handled with a lot of effort