Experimental Camera settings, and some Nice Shots

June 13th, 2020

Out the Window and a Dandy Bee Shot

The Window Views

A little grey jay. They love the pole and looking in, as if to say hey it is food time? I like these little birds they are not as flighty as some and will hang for a few seconds while I try to get pictures.
DSC_9823  grey jay.jpg
f/5.6 - 1/1600 sec - ISO-800 Taken on Tuesday the 9th


From My Amazing Wednesday

The next few I was experimenting with the auto settings on my camera, and was using the scene setting and landscape. Since the camera did all the work I will forgo leaving the settings for these few.

DSC_9842 widow dwzoom.jpg
This is a slightly zoomed in shot of my driveway. I may end up re-using this shot for a "Story from a Picture" post. I do have an idea for a short, just have to think on it some and decide.


DSC_9847  window yard left.jpg
The view from the same window but looking to the left slightly. I actually kind of like how the camera picked the settings. I did crop a little bit, and lifted some of the shadow to see the trees in the background a bit better, but I think the auto function did a nice job on the setting for this shot.


DSC_9882 window view.jpg
My driveway viewed from on high. Now on this one the camera picke the settings also, however I did do quite a bit of post processing on it. I took out the well head and the post that the birds love to sit on, and a small satellite dish. using the clone tool. I think the edit came out nice and looks natural from a non zoomed in look.

Those three were taken in the early afternoon, I needed to do something because I was awaiting my record making day. I was going to become a Dolphin that day, and along with that I had a record breaking payout day also. So I was pretty excited.

Later that day we had to go on a milk run and I got that beautiful shot of the Lily lake, while there I was also able to get a nice close up of a bee on a dandelion.

DSC_9870  bee lake.jpg

You can zoom in pretty good on him in peakd front end, but here is a pre zoomed in shot of just the bee pretty much.
justabee.jpg

I still really like the surprised bee picture I got later that evening at home of the spider catching a bee. That was really an amazing end to an amazing day for me.

Well that does it for my wickedly amazing Wednesday pictures. It was a good day and one I will remember for some time to come. however all is not over.

On Friday evening we had a couple of visitors. The sun was gone well behind the trees, and it was pretty overcast with some lifted fog, but at 10 pm these two decided to hunker down for the evening in our yard.
DSC_9885  moose and calf.jpg

While mother moose is in pretty good focus the baby moose is not quite as sharply focused. he looks like a little stuffed long eared plush toy out there. The ISO was way up there at 2500, and I had to hold the camera pretty steady at a speed of only 1/250 sec. Still it came out a bit grainy being zoomed in almost all the way. I could not use the flash because that would have had the two of them up and booking for the trees, and we like seeing the moose so we try not to disturb them when they visit.

Over all I think I had a pretty nice week from Monday to Friday, and I hope the coming week is full of more nice surprises, they are always fun.


Did you have a good week? Need a place to share your week or day with?
Why not give Hive a Try, and let your imagination thrive.
To sign-up and get a Hive Blog Account


Tiny Picture links back to my blog:

Sort:  

Hello, @bashadow. I loved the pictures. What city is this?
You had helped me (thank you and I'm already following you for that, XD) in a recent post and I'd like to clear up some doubts, that I'm still trying to understand how everything works around here.
I just created a 2D animation of a horror scene. Then I thought about posting on the OnChainArt community, but I also researched if there are other communities that would be interested in this content (for instance, Alien Art Hive seems to be weird enough to perfectly fit my content). Is it allowed to post the same content in more than one community (OnChainArt and Alien Art Hive), or should you restrict yourself to just one?

If I get more hive power (HP), will I get more attention from the community?
If I post on hive.blog or I post on peakd.com, what's the difference? Yesterday I posted on hive.blog, but I've seen my post is also on peakd. I don't understand the difference.

Posting on one front end will have it show on all front ends. You are actually posting to the "Block Chain" and all the interfaces pull and post to the same place. It is like Chrome web browser or Firefox, they both allow you to surf the web and interact with the web, it is just the various ways and tools might be different.

Reference the Hive Power, that is what your Resource Credits are based on right now, and what is used to interact with the block chain. The more HP you have the more you can do, up to a point. Once you have about 80 HP, that is enough to do almost everything a person wants with out running out of resource credits.

There is a lot more to it than that, such as how it effects your personal vote power, (ability to reward post), how much you earn as a curation reward, and a few other things.

Oh and all the pictures are taken on the Kenai Peninsula, Alaska. The little bird and the moose and calf are in my yard.

Does Hive has a Discord channel? I have a lot of doubts, and even after reading the FAQ I am still confused.

https://discord.gg/U5W6Uc

I am only an infrequent visitor to hive so I am not sure if that invite link will work or not. It should go to the Hive discord.

You pretty much need to read each community's rules. Some allow for what is known as cross posting, some do not, some for limited cross posting by the owners or moderators of the community. Each community is allowed to set their own rules about that.

Good shots.

Super nice of the bee on the flower.