A Magical Moonlight Night On The Beach

I love being down by the coast, and I try to get down there as often as possible. If I am not taking photos, I love finding and exploring new spots that are often not seen by many others that do not take the time to explore.

However, visiting the popular spots is also fun! I got a message from some photographers that live a few hours away that were coming down to try and get a shot at Gibson's steps with the milkyway rising.

The conditions were looking perfect on all fronts but one, there were no clouds at all, the weather was looking warm enough, no fog, but the moon was going to be a bit of a bother.

I'm not sure exactly what percent the moon was, but it was fairly big and lit up the whole beach and was positioned exactly under the milky way core!

I decided to try and get a shot when the moon dipped behind the apostle, as the milky way was kind of visible and the beach was lit nicely.

This was the image I captured.

gibsonsMoonlightWEB.jpg

I was really surprised with the amount of detail I was able to get out of the core while having a beautiful glow on the beach! This shot is pretty unique as well, with not many others having a similar shot, other than the two photographers I went along with.

I hope you enjoy this image and I think that I am going to get it printed pretty big to have hanging up on the wall at home :)

Sort:  

Congratulations @benwickenton! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s):

You distributed more than 33000 upvotes.
Your next target is to reach 34000 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Support the HiveBuzz project. Vote for our proposal!

Stunning picture. You really got a looot of details - sun, starts and beauty in the shadows! WOW!!

Thank you! I think I got pretty lucky with the conditions I had that night / early morning :)

Wonderfull picture. Congrats!

Thank you so much!

You did a really really good job, this long exposure photo ended really impresive man!

Thank you! Something a bit different for me, but I think it turned out really well :)

Congratulations @benwickenton! Your post has been a top performer on the Hive blockchain and you have been rewarded with the following badge:

Post with the most upvotes of the day.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Support the HiveBuzz project. Vote for our proposal!

Really missed an opportunity here for your romantic profile introduction.
"Hi, I'm Ben. I like long walks on the beach under the moonlight." 😂

Great image! Balancing the color and brightness of the stars and moon is no easy task.

Haha maybe if this was a dating profile Casey! Glad you like it :)

Congratulations good work.

Thank you so much!

Thank you too let us build friendship

Quite an epic picture indeed.