Attending A Concert After Ages


When Chai Met Toast

These guys are an Indie Folk Multilingual Alternative Band in India and i've been closely following them since the mid 2018 and their line up comprises of Ashwin Gopakumar who's the Vocalist and is also reffered to as Mr. Thalli, You have Achyuth Jaigopal who’s the lead Guitarist and also the most cutest guys on the band 😂 Like women lose their shit when they see him, You have Palee Francis on the Keyboard and finally you have Pai Sailesh as their Drummer.

This band is know for their lighthearted soulful music which they create primarily in English and Hindi but sometimes they feature Tamil and Malayalam lyrics as well which somehow just elevates their music to a whole new level.

I attended their first live concert in 2019 at the Under 25 Summit where they were touring on the RedBull Tour Bus in Bangalore, India


Here are some tracks from this band that will get you hooked to them

I was in Chennai the previous week attending my elder cousins engagement and I got to know that When Chai Met Toast was playing in town so I immediately booked myself the front row VIP seats which costed me around Rs 2299 ($ ) but it was worth it to see them live again.

Usually they don't allow the guests to carry a DSLR or any professional recording equipments in such events but like always I managed to sneak my camera in 😂 I don’t care what the Terms & Conditions says, If i'm paying a bomb for my tickets then I definitely need good pictures to compensate for it. I prefer to capture all my memories on frame because who know if you’ll get to relive it again yeah ?


All the images were shot using a Canon 80D using a 50mm f1.8 Lens

Now the thing about shooting in concerts when you’re a guest is that you’re literally stuck to your seat and have no flexibility whatsoever and using a 50mm lens further limits that. I wasn’t able to capture all the members of the band in frame. Most of the images I have are of Mr. Thalli the lead Vocalist, I got 1 decent picture each of the Guitarists and the Pianist and I have zero pictures of the Drummer.

I hope someday I get called in to shoot for a live band and till then I guess i'll have to keep sneaking my equipments in and shooting undercover 🤣

Edit 1069.jpg

Edit 1070.jpg

Portrait 678.jpg

Portrait 679.jpg

Portrait 677.jpg

Portrait 680.jpg

Portrait 682.jpg

Portrait 686.jpg

Portrait 688.jpg

Portrait 687.jpg

Portrait 681.jpg

Now these last 3 images were a part of 16 images that I shot using burst mode, What I didn’t realise is that my settings got messed up because I hadn’t locked them in place 🙂 When I shot them through the viewfinder I knew I had captured some amazing shot but when I saw them on Lightroom I pretty much lost it and that when I realized that my shutter got bumped to 1/1250 sec which was devastating because I only could manage to salvage 3 image only because I could fix them up sort of in monochrome

Portrait 684-2.jpg

Portrait 684.jpg

Portrait 685.jpg

Here are some snippets of the show that I have compiled for you guys, I really love the fact that my phone (Redmi Note 10 Pro) camera can zoom in and out so smoothly and have really good stabilisation as well.


Questions About Photography Are Welcome!
Upvote, Comment, Repost And Follow If You Like My Work!
Have A Great Day!

Panda-GIF-BG.gif

33 copy.jpg

Sort:  


~~~ embed:1514528108816207872 twitter metadata:YmlnaHVuZ3J5cGFuZGF8fGh0dHBzOi8vdHdpdHRlci5jb20vYmlnaHVuZ3J5cGFuZGEvc3RhdHVzLzE1MTQ1MjgxMDg4MTYyMDc4NzJ8 ~~~
The rewards earned on this comment will go directly to the person sharing the post on Twitter as long as they are registered with @poshtoken. Sign up at https://hiveposh.com.

You lucky person 😭 The urge to get up and go travel after looking at your posts is 🙂 Can’t you just sit at home bro 😂 love the shot btw!!

GET UP AND GO THEN, ESCAPEEEEEEEE REALITY 😂

Khoj will forever be my favourite song from them ❤️ Amazing shots 😍 !!!

It's my favourite too 😍

Oh my God the pictures are amazing!😍 And thank you for introducing me to this band dude, love their music❤️❤️

Theeenkssss, Hahah I told you so 😂

Just another post where we get to see ramesh live his life🤩
Also love the shots!

You will also sooon 😂 and theeenks ❤️