Wednesdaywalk: Hunting for reflections in the center of St. Petersburg (photo story in 12 pictures)

IMG_20200904_194746.jpg



This is my entry for the @tattoodjay's Wednesday walk challenge.

Do you love reflections? I love reflections. I can't say that I'm very good at reflections, but I consider every puddle as a potential mirror when my camera is in my hand. And the calm surface of the water in the lake even more so. I talked about the autumn reflections in the local lake a week ago. Today I will have many reflections in my post again.

Last summer I wanted to go out to the center of St. Petersburg one evening and take a walk there, and at the same time take pictures. I don't even know what is primary here. Probably still a photograph.

I arrived in the city center, left the car in one quiet street and went for a walk. At first I walked along the embankment of the Neva River. One of my goals was to photograph the sunset over the Peter and Paul Fortress. I came to Troitsky Bridge, from where sunset at this time of year is probably the best thing to photograph. But the sky was not very expressive. Here I stayed with the camera for a little while, but I will tell you about this separately sometime.

IMG_20200904_183819.jpg

Then I decided to go to Palace Square. I got a fix idea. I wanted to try to make a tiny planet panorama standing on the square and so that the Alexander Column was visible on it.

So, I came to Palace Square. First of all, the Winter Palace got into my lens.

IMG_20200904_193101.jpg

And it so happened that on the square I saw a couple of small puddles. I immediately remembered that I saw interesting photographs on the Internet with reflections of Palace Square.

And then I decided to take a moment.

The first reflection hit the Admiralty building. Albeit from afar, but still.

IMG_20200904_193640.jpg

Then I tried to fit the entire Alexander Column into the frame. And I did it.

IMG_20200904_193719.jpg

Turning around a bit, I took a photo with the reflection of the General Staff Building and the Arc de Triomphe.

IMG_20200904_193744_1.jpg

Next, the photo showed another part of the General Staff building and the dome of St. Isaac's Cathedral appeared in the background.

IMG_20200904_193821.jpg

Another photo with the Alexander Column.

IMG_20200904_194512.jpg

Here I tried to revive the frame with tourists moving around the square.

IMG_20200904_194746.jpg

And of course I had to try to capture the Winter Palace in the frame. But he was too close to the puddle.

IMG_20200904_194812.jpg

So, after spending some time, my imagination dried up a little and I saw two guys with a camera, who were looking at me, circling around the puddle. I realized that they would also like to use a puddle to shoot reflections. And then I went on a walk.

Coming back to the embankment of the Neva River, I found another small puddle, where I made another shot. After that, I went towards a small street, where my car was waiting for me. On the way, I no longer took pictures of reflections, so I will tell you about the end of the walk somehow separately.

IMG_20200904_195456.jpg

Yes, I almost forgot. I said I wanted to make a tiny planet panorama on the square.

Here's a panorama I got. To be honest, I thought it would be difficult, but something worked out.

TINYPLANET_PANO_20200904_193123_1599237259735.jpg



Huawei P20 Pro


I strongly recommend to open the photo in a separate tab to appreciate it.


Sort:  

The photos so amazing

I like puddle shots, i do them offten. Going to make a post of my shots in the Hague now :) Thanks

Thank you too! I like them too. It's one of my favorite tricks 8)