ADVENTURES IN PUMPKINLAND

in Photography Lovers3 years ago (edited)

I went for a drive last Wednesday, with no particular destination in mind ...

(Enlargeable)

... and ended up in the place where pumpkins are the most iconic thing on the fields. At this time of the year, at least.

(Enlargeable)

Some friends were there with me ...

img_6244_malo.jpg

... among the pumpkins ...

img_6308_malo.jpg

... and various minuscule creatures that gravitate around those big colorful fruits. You'll see more of them later in the post, because now ...

img_6223_malo.jpg

... is time to start from the beginning.

(Enlargeable)

We drove north of Medulin, our hometown, and stopped 70 kilometers further, in the village called Cerovlje (you can read it Tzerovlje or something like that) to stretch our legs.

img_6226_malo.jpg

There we noticed this photogenic old villa, different from any other house in the village.

(Enlargeable)

I took a couple of shots around that house ...

(Enlargeable)

... and then, focused my attention on the quiet building across the street ...

img_6227_malo.jpg

... the small railway station. Not many people are using the train that passes rarely nowadays.

img_6228_malo.jpg

Most of the traffic runs on the roads and highways. When I photographed this highway exit not far from the village ...

(Enlargeable)

... I didn't know that we will continue in that direction soon ...

(Enlargeable)

... and end up under the overpass of that highway system ...

img_6250_malo.jpg

... because we saw a large field nearby.

(Enlargeable)

An attractive field covered with beautiful pumpkins.

img_6243_malo.jpg

Here I took plenty of photographs ...

img_6269_malo.jpg

... because, although the pumpkins looked pretty much the same from a distance ...

(Enlargeable)

... I found some unexpected "individuality" upon a better, more up-close look.

img_6254_malo.jpg

This pumpkin stood out with its lovely combination of gray, orange, and some decorative radial lines.

img_6268_malo.jpg

This rotting one looked like some strange face with small eyes and a big mouth.

(Enlargeable)

These two looked very happy together.

img_6289_malo.jpg

At one point a tractor appeared from behind the small hill ...

(Enlargeable)

... and people started picking the pumpkins ...

img_6293_malo.jpg

... while I was chasing some macro stuff ...

img_6293_minikrop.jpg

... like this minuscule beetle.

img_6296_malo.jpg

I found also a couple of flowers among the fruits.

img_6311_malo.jpg

The minuscule gnat on this shot was photographed on one of those flowers.

(Enlargeable)

This aphid was photographed on another flower of the same plant.

(Enlargeable)

Here you can see a minuscule aphid photographed on the big colorful pumpkin.

img_6322_malo.jpg

A bit later, some meters further ...

img_6277_malo.jpg

... I found this ladybug. Which was eating an aphid. Here I can tell you the exact species, for a change. This is the Hippodamia variegata ladybug.

(Enlargeable)

While photographing the people working on the field, I caught them in some cool poses ...

(Enlargeable)

... that made picking the pumpkins look a bit like some Olympic sport.

img_6320_malo.jpg

Here you can see yet another portrait of another anonymous pumpkin.

img_6292_malo.jpg

Here you can see a pair of them ...

img_6271_malo.jpg

... here is a trio in the foreground with an army of pumpkins behind it, and on the following shot ...

img_6253_malo.jpg

... you can take a look at what looks a bit like a pumpkin band posing for a photograph.

img_6274_malo.jpg

This Harvestman (Phalangium opilio) was photographed on an olive green pumpkin.

img_6286_malo.jpg

This one ...

img_6287_malo.jpg

... was resting on the large, hairy leaf.

img_6247_malo.jpg

Some hours later, while we were still photographing or resting among the pumpkins ...

img_6256_malo.jpg

... a group of riders arrived ...

(Enlargeable)

... and passed along the edge of the field.

img_6258_malo.jpg

They came as ordered. I took plenty of shots ...

(Enlargeable)

... because horses and pumpkins created a pretty cool scene.

img_6259_malo.jpg

After some minutes ...

img_6266_malo.jpg

... when they disappeared behind the hill ...

img_6241_malo.jpg

... we were walking to the car ...

img_6325_malo.jpg

... parked under the massive overpass.

img_6326_malo.jpg

And that's it.

(Enlargeable)

After taking this photograph, I entered the car and we drove away.

As always in these posts on HIVE, the photographs are my work.

Sort:  

Congratulations @borjan! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You have been a buzzy bee and published a post every day of the week.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Check out the last post from @hivebuzz:

Feedback from the October 1st Hive Power Up Day
Hive Power Up Month Challenge - Winners List

I missed this! How? I love pumpkins. And horses. But today it's the pumpkins that attract me.

This is such a wonderful post. Your friend has made a stool of the pumpkin :) I once made pies from pumpkins I grew in the backyard. It was a 'fruitful' year. I grew strawberries, pumpkins and sunflowers. The squirrels loved the sunflowers.

Thanks for the memories :) and the great pictures.

:)

Horeseback riding and pumpkin fields remind me of my childhood in the USA, but we don't have any cool old villas like the first couple you shared in this post. Does anyone live in those villas anymore? They look like they are still in good condition.

yes. A man appeared on the terrace upstairs when I was photographing :) We talked a bit about the weather.

awesome shots again. Such a lovely trip. the hairs on the bugs legs... wowza!!!!

I didn't know people actually grow pumpkins in Istria. Do they make pumpkon oil as well? I thought this was more common in Međimurje and Slavonija. Also, it was awesome to see pumpkin plant still in blossom so late in the Autumn, when most of the pumpkins are ripe.

I think they make oil nowadays. When I was a kid, I remember pumpkins being grown mainly for feeding the pigs. Only in the central part of Istra, around Pazin, I encounter larger fields covered with pumpkins.

Oh wow these photos and this whole adventure was epic! This is the kind of thing I would put on my bucketlist because I'm weird and it's October. Such great shots. Did you manage to take a pumpkin home with you?

:) I took only pictures, left the pumpkins there. I like the October atmosphere. It's still warm and plenty of fruits around. Mushrooms are also starting to come out of the ground.

That pumpkin field looks just amazing! So surreal with orange alien eggs everywhere! These might be fake pumpkins! They might turn into something else during the night.

Those two old houses also look very odd! They just don’t fit in with reality of modern world. You country seems to be full of odd and strange things!! LoL

:D True, pumpkins really look a bit like some alien stuff.

Nice pumpkins garden photography.

I love the break of thought 🤩😂🤩 at the beginning, until you picked up your narration again starting from the beginning to the ending point, I noticed that — it's a good way of writing too...

I enjoyed the creativity of your write-up and photographs, especially; it shows an explicit experience and encounter at the farm and old villa in the village.

I see a lot of portrait pictures of pumpkins with some amazing creatures at the farm (a field — as aforementioned by you earlier). Nature is really a beautiful thing...

Enjoy the rest of your day @borjan

True :) there is always something interesting in nature. In every season. And thank you, glad you like this photo - story.

I loved the picture-story...
Oh, yes, nature is truly beautiful and amazing — it's something to behold as well @borjan

Thanks for the support on my blog lately

Stay blessed!

It looks like a great place 🎃🎃

Really nice images 👍🏽. Quite the trip you had

 3 years ago  Reveal Comment