Another dawn by the ponds....


This post features photos from another misty sun rise by the ponds. It's a good location to start off with, if there is a the right amount of cloud in the sky. High cloud is preferable, and it is usually a good sign that the light will be soft and colourful. A cloudless sky can be a bit harsh, unless there is a lot of atmosphere in the air to soften the sun.



There was a beautiful pastel light when I arrived, and the water was lovely and calm, so I didn't hesitate in setting up this shot on my tripod.

GentlePonds-1.jpg



I went for a walk a little up the hill in the hope that there would be more mist, but it seemed to be mainly hanging over the bodies of water. When I turned around to retrace my steps, this tree with the beam of light above it caught my eye. To me it looked like a spaceship's tractor beam was about to beam the tree on board. Anyway, I thought it would make a fun image, so I grabbed a shot before I headed back in the direction of the ponds.

GentlePonds-2.jpg



I set up my tripod by the water's edge. There were 3 moorhens having a real scrap quite close by, totally messing up the water by making lots of ripples. My suspicion was that it was 2 males fighting over a female. I politely pointed out to them that they were ruining my shot, but they didn't pay any attention. Eventually, they took their fight further away, and I managed to get this image, just moments before the sun popped over the horizon.

GentlePonds-3.jpg



And that was the end of the good light. The sun was very harsh as soon as it was visible, and the water suddenly had more movement in it. The whole scene was less tranquil.

GentlePonds-4.jpg



I headed back to where I'd locked up my bike, and met some deer eating breakfast. Their antlers from last year have all been shed, and many of them are growing their new ones, like this chap on the left.

deereating-1.jpg

I STILL haven't found an old antler anywhere in the park, which I find quite surprising. Where do they all go once they have been shed by the deer....?!



I can be found on...
Instagram: https://www.instagram.com/cathgothard/
Website: www.cathgothard.com

Thanks for looking!
Sort:  

Hi @cathgothard,
Thank you for participating in the #teamuk curated tag. We have upvoted your quality content.
For more information visit our discord https://discord.gg/8CVx2Am

Thanks for the support @teamuksupport :)

Wow look like a perfect morning. Love the mist fog floating above the water. The way the sun peaks through the trees in the 4th shot is mystical. Great set.

It was a stunning morning! The mist was beautiful. Glad that you like my photos!

These photos are absolutely stunning 😍 love them.

!ALIVE
!PIZZA
!wine


Congratulations, @awah You Successfully Shared 0.300 WINEX With @cathgothard.
You Earned 0.300 WINEX As Curation Reward.
You Utilized 3/4 Successful Calls.

wine_logo


Contact Us : WINEX Token Discord Channel
WINEX Current Market Price : 0.200


Swap Your Hive <=> Swap.Hive With Industry Lowest Fee (0.1%) : Click This Link
Read Latest Updates Or Contact Us

@cathgothard! You Are Alive so I just staked 0.1 $ALIVE to your account on behalf of @awah. (3/10)

The tip has been paid for by the We Are Alive Tribe through the earnings on @alive.chat, feel free to swing by our daily chat any time you want.

Thank you so much! I was very lucky with the weather. :)

!PIZZA

PIZZA! PIZZA! PIZZA! PIZZA! PIZZA! PIZZA! PIZZA!

PIZZA Holders sent $PIZZA tips in this post's comments:
cathgothard tipped johannpiber (x1)
qwerrie tipped cathgothard (x1)
cathgothard tipped qwerrie (x1)
awah tipped cathgothard (x1)
@johannpiber(2/15) tipped @cathgothard (x2)
cathgothard tipped awah (x1)

Please vote for pizza.witness!

One would wonder where those antlers end up. Great shots!

It’s a mystery! There are over 600 deer in the park. So a fair number of antlers must be shed every year... Glad that you like the photos. :)

I bet that would be one creepy spot to come to find... the antler graveyard. hahaha

Manually curated by ackhoo from the @qurator Team. Keep up the good work!

Thanks for the support @ackhoo and @qurator, the support is really appreciated. :)

perfect captures, as always. a little !PIZZA extra as a bonus.

Thank you @qwerrie! Glad that you like the post. Have some tasty !PIZZA too! :)

Love the photos. And to answer the lost sheds question: they are tasty treats for many other wildlife including squirrels, porcupines, mice, chipmunks, rabbits, ground hogs, coyotes, raccoons, opossums, dogs, pretty much any other rodent or things with teeth, lol.

Glad that you like the photos! And thank you for the intel regarding the disappearing antlers. Although we don’t have all the animals on the list, we have a few over here. Nice to know that they’re being enjoyed by other wildlife. :)

And other people! There's many of us that enjoy shed hunting. I just love following deer trails through the woods looking for these treasures!

Antlers are in high demand! :)

Wooo una gran artista, fotos espectaculares🤗

¡Muchas gracias! :)

Second one is amazing❤️

Thank you! I was lucky with the conditions. :)

I think I have already said it in another post how much I love such misty scenes ... so beautiful 😍


!PIZZA and !BEER - sounds like a nice dinner :)
!invest_vote

Thank you @johannpiber! I was really lucky to get such beautiful conditions. It was absolutely gorgeous out. Have some !PIZZA :)

The pleasure is all mine, Cath 😊


!PIZZA and !BEER - sounds like a nice dinner :)
!invest_vote

@johannpiber denkt du hast ein Vote durch @investinthefutur verdient!
@johannpiber thinks you have earned a vote of @investinthefutur !

Thank you for your witness vote!
Have a !BEER on me!
To Opt-Out of my witness beer program just comment !STOP below

@johannpiber denkt du hast ein Vote durch @investinthefutur verdient!
@johannpiber thinks you have earned a vote of @investinthefutur !

Nice Shots! Congratulations! 👍👌

Thank you! Glad that you like the photos. :)

Congratulations @cathgothard! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s):

You got more than 800 replies.
Your next target is to reach 900 replies.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Check out the last post from @hivebuzz:

Hive Power Up Day - May 1st 2022
Support the HiveBuzz project. Vote for our proposal!

Thank you! The mist does make the world look rather dream-like. It was such a beautiful morning.