Anniversaries

Time flies and new twists arrive. A year ago I met @rrusina at work without yet realizing she would become my partner. Coincidentally, it was just the day before my Steem/Hive anniversary date, which is now, the 16th of August: 3 years on the blockchain. Not that it really was a planned gift for myself because of these dates, but it seemed fitting that I got myself a new toy at this moment.

IMG_8947_01.jpg

The truth is that I was actually couple of weeks without a camera. I had promised that I would give my camera back to the friend – who gifted it to me – should he get interested in photography again. The order came and I donated the Nikon back to him at the end of July. Though I had already started to aspire for better performance for my gear, realizing its limitations, thus there had been little drive for any photographing lately.

Luckily @rrusina had a Canon and I struck my eyes on a Sigma 18-35 f/1.8 lens which I happened to find in a private photography leaf market group on Facebook – where I hadn't been approved as a member for some reason, though @rrusina was, so she could check it out. Where would I be without her :)

The price was very reasonable and now we can both benefit of it. The lens produces some really darn good results and I'm really happy with it. It has lower aperture at f/1.8 allowing much better results at dim conditions than with the previous lenses I had for Nikon. Also the focus is super quick and overall the quality is stellar to what I'm used to.

More pictures will follow, but here's just a couple test shots from yesterday with Canon 500D and the Sigma 18-35.

IMG_8940.jpg

IMG_8948.jpg

500€ worthy lens just to have better pictures of my food that I don't usually even photograph :D

Sort:  

Happy anniversary...Soon we will celebrate our anniversary but I wait for her birthday too... :) So I will get one gift :)) By the way it is really great lens forphotography machines with aps-c sensor...

By the way it is really great lens forphotography machines with aps-c sensor...

So I read :)

Soon we will celebrate our anniversary but I wait for her birthday too... :) So I will get one gift :))

Haha, efficient :P

man this lens is really cool. and beautiful. a gift. ! I'm waiting to see your wonderful photos

Posted using Dapplr

I'm waiting to see your wonderful photos

Soon :P But meanwhile, check out @rrusina's newest post where she used the lens to picture gerbils :D

Yeah! I loved those shots !!!♥️

Oh I dunno - a side of nachos is pretty awesome!

Posted using Dapplr

They didn't any more gluten free bread, but I can forgive that by having nachos instead.

Happy Anniversary. Well the resolution is really clear... I'd say it was a good buy

Thanks :)
I'm confident it was a worthy purchase.

HAha 3 great years and dried fruit!

Enhancing your content with even better pics and treating yourself sounds like a victory to me!

Enjoy it old buddy.

Lol, still remember dried fruit.
Thanks!

I am still looking forward to my dried fruit when we meet up at a Hive thing someday.

Haha, the fruit might have gone past its prime by then, they were already old when I got them 😅

Posted using Dapplr

Yay you got the lens! I think you are gonna really like it.

Yeah, I'm already liking it, amazing how big of an upgrade on quality this is!

Once you go Sigma Art... 😁

It seems like you'll become converted for life.

I wish it wasn’t like that because they are pretty expensive lenses, though not as expensive as prime Nikkor and Canons so 🤷🏼‍♀️