Portly Monochrome Monday

in Photography Lovers6 months ago

Hi fellow Hiveians,

Today I wanted to share some pictures in black and white of some ships!

IMG_2260 edit.jpg

Hive Divider Bar Text.png

Portly Monochrome Monday

I've certainly enjoyed the opportunity that work has presented me, where I can do things like work in unique areas that let me go to the cities. This one is no different!

I have been doing some work here in there for a company and I've gotten to do some work in the city which has been great. We haven't really spent a lot of time in the area for various reasons but being back to where we spent a lot of time was nice. I didn't really go down to the port or docks much but I was able to with this which ended up being really cool! I got to take some early morning shots of some of the hustle and bustle, which make it look more dramatic converting it to black and white.

IMG_2254 edit.jpg

I haven't been too close to cruise ships that many times but in this area here, I've seen a number of them. What was amazing was how freaking BIG the damn things are! I went on one once when I was younger for a cruise down to the islands and it was great. The boat was pretty big but we had to travel to another much bigger city and port to get to the ship because of the depth required or something. I didn't realize that one of the cities in our region allowed these big ass cruise ships these days until I went there weeks ago!

It's amazing how big and ominous the things are - making little to no sound as they slice through the water. I guess most ships are like that because the engine and all the other components are far below the areas where you can actually hear anything. Funny side note - you don't hear these climate nuts complain about cruise ships but these fuckers burn a shit ton of diesel fuel to operate. Worry about cow farts and personal cars though! Lol.

IMG_2250 edit.jpg

What I really liked the most about the area though was seeing the tanker vessels! These fucking things are enormous but watching the tugboats masterfully guide them to and fro in the busy port was really cool. There were cruise ships in the port where the container ships were already docked so they had to use tug boats to maneuver them in between all the things. It was a fascinating situation to watch for sure!

Thinking of the sheer weight and everything that's on those things is nuts. These are a lot of the elements of society that people have no idea about because we are sheltered beyond belief in so many ways. These are the most important parts of a functioning society that we have and keeping these wheels spinning and greased is so important!

IMG_2260 edit.jpg

I loved getting the pictures but converting them to black and white was pretty damn cool. The container ship was much more dramatic with black and white which I really enjoyed.

Hive Divider Bar Centered.png

-CmplXty. Real human written content, never AI.

Hive Divider Bar Centered.png

Connect with me!

Do you want to get paid, in crypto, for searching the internet? Try using and signing up for Presearch to earn some great crypto! I've currently got 2,900 PRE tokens, with a market value of $180.27. It doesn't sound like a lot but when you search using sites like Google you get paid $0! Join Presearch to break Google's stranglehold on the internet searches. If you'd like to sign up, use my referral link below and spread the word!
https://www.presearch.org/signup?rid=513043


Image source

Sort:  

The monochrome really made the picture to turn out so amazing

I love that essence of mystery that is generated by the black and white photographs, beautiful pictures!

Well, our cruise ships still make noise here though
I'm sure we'd improve better

Going to such a beach and seeing such big boats and if one can see the ship so closely, the sight is very amazing and beautiful.