Woodpeckers

I saw a gorgeous male Flicker the other day, perched on a power line.
DSC_4172.jpg
1/320 sec. f/7.1 300mm ISO 400

To me the mature males look like a stout little balding man with a big red handlebar mustache.
DSC_4176.jpg
1/1250 sec. f/6.3 300mm ISO 500

I think he agrees with me.

The females are not as brilliantly colored, but they still have all the cool spots.

DSC_4178.jpg
1/1250 sec. f/6.3 300mm ISO 500

She was perched on a branch just above him, so I am assuming they were a mated pair.

DSC_4179.jpg
1/1250 sec. f/6.3 300mm ISO 500

I find Flickers very fascinating, and try and snap a few photos of them whenever I see them. I'm always trying to figure out what the best settings are for the various kinds of birds around my city, but since the lighting is always changing this time of year (cloudy one minute, sunny the next), I have yet to come up with any kind of formula.
I've posted about Flickers a few times, so if you want to know more about this bird you can check out these links.

Male Northern Flicker: Ants for Lumch
The Ant-hunting Flicker
Northern Flicker Nest

Thanks for taking the time to check out my photos!

All photos are mine, taken with my Nikon D7500 and edited in Apple Photo Editor and Lightroom

Sort:  

Congratulations @corvidae! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You published more than 90 posts.
Your next target is to reach 100 posts.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Thank you!