When the city sleeps the mind thinks

Would you expect a book called Conversations with God to not be about religion (in fact it is anti-religion and pro-spirituality and..shockingly, I approve it) or even about God? And what if a book about God would include deep conversations about sex & sexuality & death? And what if reading it would make you wonder if the whole way you've been living has been wrong?

This idea and a myriad of other existential thoughts were passing through my mind very early in the morning. As you probably know I love bad weather. Gloomy, rainy, cloudy, freezing. It makes me feel more peaceful and calm. And by the way, if anyone is interested, the book is written by Neale Donald Walsch. I bought the 4 volumes and I still can't wrap my head around volume 1. Processing a book hasn't been such a challenge for a long time ...shall I say a big thank you Donald? Or God? Anyway....back to the post

I woke up with a feeling that I want to take little snippets of my city while enjoying a foggy day. Very early in the morning when most people are still sleeping Mary wants to take photos. If you wonder if I am afraid walking alone through the fog ....the answer is no. I kind of love it.

What I like about moments like these is that it is awfully quiet. The atmosphere is kind of surreal, I felt like in one of those post-apocalyptic video games when the hero walks alone through a derelict city. Only that it feels beautiful and not scary. Fascinating and refreshing.

When I walked around I thought about how utterly alone we humans can feel on this Planet when everybody is getting up in their car and driving to I-don't-know-where-doing-something-I-don't-know-if-I-want-to-do. Incessantly. On repeat. Without questioning why the rythm has to be on high speed all the time.

fog1.jpg

We rush. We forget how to live pretending that this is living. Why do we run from ourselves?

I love the little colorful lights. We should have them all the time, not only on holidays. Because we should not expect Christmas in order to celebrate kindness and become better people.

fog.jpg

A man with a mission. I wonder if he thinks that what he has to do is so very important. I realize that in those far away shadows are concrete walls where people dream their life and live their dreams only if they allow themselves to be more than they can

fog4.jpg

fog3.jpg

Go straight ahead. Says the arrow. How often do we go on faulty roads because we trusted an old sign? Look at the present moment. Are you repeating your past?

fog5.jpg

I like how the fog makes the city lights more subdued. It is like a wonderful blurry collage. Isn't this a good metaphor for urban life? In the early morning, when it is quiet, some thoughts can be clear. When agitation begins the blur happens. Like troops ready to attack, masses of people wake up and the big noise begins. Where is the fine line between repetition and doing something worth doing?

Answer: Blur....

This shell could have been a big tree. A magnificent walnut. It just lays here. So tiny, so small. Ready to return into the very soil it has come from. Just like us. Admirable temporary beauty ready to trancend and become more than a shell.Just like us.

fog9.jpg

The lights are off. While in the dark am I still looking in the right way?

fog6.jpg

fog8.jpg

fog7.jpg

There is a certain feeling of magic when I have the privilege to observe how trees go barren heading toward winter season. They shed their old leaves in a spectacle of color. The fallen leaves are a beautiful blueprint of decay. What we often perceive as a loss can be in fact a win. A regeneration. A process.

fog10.jpg

They say trust the process.

This morning I've said trust the fog. Trust myself and my Fuji.

Have a blessed day and toodle loo!

Sort:  

surreal and beautiful indeed. i like empty corners and streets too, especially when taking photographs. love how these turned out.

Hi! Thanks so much! Empty streets always look cool, especially when the weather is bad.
I once caught a super foggy day like no other, it was last year and I had no good camera with me. I vividly remember it as I took mental pictures 🥰

I think your pictures are beautiful and you give me a few things to ponder on. Thank you so much for sharing this post.

Hey! Thank you very much! Well I wish you happy productive pondering then, I know how nice it feels to have your mind challenged by words and ideas.
Cheers🤗

Those are the best kind of books!
beautiful pictures too!

Sending you a hug from a cold(er than usual) Portugal :<)

I agree with you Vincent! I am pretty sure that if I was to read this years ago I would have thrown it away, thinking that the author is just crazy lol. I was not so self-aware and spiritually open. I was living pretty much consumed by what I thought it was life happening to me.

Now....as they say: when the student is ready the teacher will appear.

If by any chance you manage to read it , I would love to share thoughts with you about the book.

Here in Romania is pretty chilly as well but rather warm in comparison with what is expected of winter. Just the other day I talked with a client remembering my childhood when the winters were so rich in snow that there were days when it went up to your knees.

Does it ever snow in Portugal?

I think it's so cute when big snowflakes fall down and you can watch it from a comfy bed with a big cup of hot tea. Snow🥰

If by any chance you manage to read it , I would love to share thoughts with you about the book.

I will keep that in mind :<)

Does it ever snow in Portugal?

It does but in higher places. I am living in the hills. It snows on the higher mountains, when it rains here. Might visit those mountains some day soon though.

Big hug!

P.S. There used to be more snow ( and more ice ) in the Winter in The Netherlands, when I grew up in the 80s till early nineties. Ice skating on natural ice used ot be a yearly happening.

How cool! I never tried ice skating, I am afraid I might break my legs lol. And it hurts to have an impact with solid ice😅

It's 'cool' indeed ;<)

It's about knowing how to fall and to not be afraid of it.
I learnt ice skating at a very young age. Usually we start holding a chair in front of us or holding someone's hand. The last time is many years ago, though.

Boas memorias! :<)

Oh I see. When we are kids we do not know what fear is, therefore it is great to use those years to learn all sorts of stuff.
Childhood memories which imply lots of snow are always beautiful🥰

When we are kids we do not know what fear is, therefore it is great to use those years to learn all sorts of stuff.

True that. Funny, you would think we would be braver when we grow up but it is often the opposite that happens :^)

Ah and I forgot , there is one special quote from volume 1 which really stuck with me.
Whenever in a difficult situation, ask yourself: what would Love do?

Nice right?... there would be less pain on this Planet if we would all stop in those moments and think about that

I love that!

Yeah, I am doing my utmost best to spread love whenever I can ( toward others as well as to my inner child )

Big hug!