Waving goodbye to Christmas

in Photography Lovers2 years ago (edited)

Point Blur_Dec312021_010809.jpg

Christmas and New year is behind us so I thought I would go for a walk and see the decorations that residents of my town have displayed over the holidays before they get taken down. Traditionally they're taken down on the 5th of January which is religiously known as the Eve of the Epiphany.

IMG_20211230_202848__02.jpg

While taking the pictures I was very conscious of these being people homes. While it's completely legal to photograph houses in the UK (as long as you're not trespassing to do so) I have omitted photos of houses that didn't have curtains/blinds drawn. I've also blurred out house numbers, road signs and cars for good measure.

Point Blur_Dec302021_234901.jpg
10/10 for effort in decorating the tree just as much as the house

IMG_20211230_194748__01.jpg
My first thought seeing this house was that it looks exactly like a gingerbread house. Then I noticed the gingerbread man in the corner!

Point Blur_Jan032022_173405.jpg

One of the most heavily decorated houses I found. Luckily for the owners modern fairy lights are LED powered so much cheaper to run than they used to be. They can also be run though a timing unit that automatically switches them on and off at an exact time.

Point Blur_Jan032022_173830.jpg

Which is just as well because it really was covered!

Point Blur_Jan032022_180537.jpg
2021

Looking back through my archive I discovered last years decorations. It looks like the same amount of lights but distributed differently.

Point Blur_Jan032022_205958.jpg
2020

Which year do you prefer?


Hope you enjoyed the bright colourful lights as much I did looking for them. I know they're a lot less spectacular than a lot of American neighbourhoods can be, but it's been fun seeing them grow year by year.

GridArt_20220103_181950557_50.jpg

Join me on noise.cash. A microblogging site that rewards you in Bitcoin Cash straight to your wallet with no minimum withdrawal fees.

https://noise.cash/u/Sneezewort

Sort:  

Hi @cryptosneeze,
Thank you for participating in the #teamuk curated tag. We have upvoted your quality content.
For more information visit our discord https://discord.gg/8CVx2Am

Back when I was younger, our neighborhood used to be like this then as the years went by, things change and now only a few houses would have Christmas decorations

While the energy usage of lights has dropped, I imagine the price of energy has gone up so much that people can't justify spending any on non-essential lighting.

There are some great decorations around our town this year. It’s as if people have made a greater effort than ever before. We love it. Always makes for a great walk.

I think it's a very British reaction to what's been going on these last couple of years.

"Ruin my Christmas? I don't think so, look how bloody festive we are in here!"