You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: La𐐒iotica ~ ʍacro Line Design ~

Great detail! Your photographs of the art are very well done also. I have had a problem photographing my paintings without getting a lot of glare. In my latest post , my painting lost a lot of detail and color because of the glare. I almost didn't post it because of the quality of the photograph. Any suggestions? Do you use a polarizer on your camera?

Sort:  

Try using frosted glass or a thin white cloth stretched over the frame. Cover bright light sources with such a screen so that there are no direct hard rays on your painting. Let the light be diffused. And also, the angle of incidence of the light is equal to the angle of reflection. Position the light source so that the reflected light does not enter the lens.
This should help.

Thanks. Good suggestions!

You are welcome :)

I don't use a polarizer. I do, however, put the setting on Macro and avoid using the flash. I generally consider my light source and try to accommodate the art to be oriented where the lighting helps the photo. Sometimes, with metallics, i want to get the shine or glare but it's hard to capture. Here is an older post where i had to wait for the direct sunlight at a particular time of day and then try my best to get the shots in a limited time to get the glare.
https://peakd.com/hive-156509/@castleberry/expectant-agog-denouement

I know it is more tricky when the medium, or paint in your case, is still wet. You could try different angles or lay the painting flat to get your shots?
I usually go back and edit my photos just a little as well. I try to increase the clarity and adjust the dark/light measures to get the best out of the images to accentuate the details a little more. I checked out your post and i didn't feel the glare was overbearing. I think we all notice our flaws a little more than others since we are the creative executives of the art.

I hope any of this response helps you out. Keep up the great work. You did great recreating that photo btw!

Thanks for the response and suggestions. The lighting in my painting room is very bright and direct, so somehow I've got the deal with that. Editing the photos to tone down the highlights from the glare is a good idea to try. Thanks for the post vote as well!

You are most welcome! Looking forward to seeing how everything turns out! I am sure you can come up with some creative solutions! Keep up the great work!