Seeing the Northern Lights in Lapland

E7F1AD1B-D184-46AB-9E38-ED0C8DBFF7BB.jpeg

I didn’t know what to expect when I arrived in Abisko Lapland because I have never seen Northern Lights before. We booked the trip early on and the closer to the date we got we realized that seeing this natural phenomenon was not a guarantee. There are a lot of factors that play into it, first and foremost it depends on the sun. The sun has holes that release solar flares, and as the sun rotates these holes need to be aligned so it releases in the right trajectory towards the North Pole in this case. The solar flares consist of charged particles called ions. When these sun bursts come towards earth it’s the magnetic field that blocks and protects the earth. Without it our atmosphere would be ripped apart. During this collision some ions still surpass the magnetic field and get trapped in something called the ionosphere. This is where the magic happens. When the ions collide with oxygen in the lower atmosphere you get green colours, which is most common and which appeared in most of my photos. If the ions on the other hand collide with nitrogen further up in the atmosphere you get red colour, this will show in the next photo below. So all these colours are actually created on different levels far away from eachother.

AB2AC336-9DEE-4C6E-ACD3-E439F37DCF54.jpeg

Alright so enough with the science. As I said before we knew it was not certain that we would see it, and the solar activity forecast was not good, also the sky was filled with clouds when we arrived in Abisko. The weather is the second most important factor because without a clear sky you can’t see the northern lights because it would be covered like a sheet hanging in front of a tv with a movie you really want to see. Anyways we decided to still head down to the lake to hopefully see something on the first day. The hotel personal had earlier told us that the reason why Abisko is one of the best places on earth to see northern lights is because it has a kind of micro climate or a blue hole they call it that keeps the clouds away. Don’t ask me how.

Anyways, in the beginning there was nothing, and then suddenly, a little passed seven a clock we saw something was happening on the horizon and just like that the show had started. In the beginning it was not very powerful, but then it suddenly picked up speed and I got to experience one of the coolest things I’ve ever had the chance to witness.

89E44E25-2383-445B-A494-50993A70B8A2.jpeg

The light display started behind the mountains in the north, but then it slowly started circling around. I was basically having to chase with my camera as it danced around. After it moved over to the opposite side of where it started something quite unusual happened. The northern lights started crowning, which means that it went from the horizon to right above us.

05BF0DAD-E778-4770-9F39-947D3F3EB43F.jpeg

The light was now moving really fast so I had to lower the shutter speed from around 10 seconds to just 1 or 2 seconds.

ED39F116-741C-4D71-973B-8B9BDDE3D1EF.jpeg

Sitting on my knees with the tripod I was shooting the pictures straight up in the sky. Everyone that was outside were cheering and it was an awesome feeling sharing it with people from all over the world.

The next day I talked to the guide that was taking us to our next adventure ( I will make a post about it tomorrow), he said that we were really lucky to see so much activity and that the skies were so clear. Basically he says it was as good as it could get and I feel so happy that me and my wife could make the journey and witness this natural phenomenon. It’s a journey and moment I will never forget.

Sort:  

I went to Iceland about 6 years ago and the person I was with was intent on seeing the lights. Unfortunately, the weather across 10 entire days was unsuitable to see them, so most tours were cancelled. Some small private tours would accept people, but said it was highly unlikely that the lights would show through the clouds. I didn't really know what I was missing, but these shots show it. The cool thing at the end of the trip as a consolation prize was the IcelandicAir plane's isle lights turning into Northern Lights when the main lights were off. That was the closest we got. I hear that you can see them in Canada too.

“ The cool thing at the end of the trip as a consolation prize was the IcelandicAir plane's isle lights turning into Northern Lights when the main lights were off.” haha 😂 damn that’s a slap in the face. But yea, it’s random, a few things has to fall in place to see it, and you guys were really unlucky because I heard Iceland is great for seeing the northern lights. But it has some awesome nature to see as well, did you enjoy the trip ?

Yea the northern lights should be possible to see in Canada as well for sure. Basically any place close to the northern pole. There is actually also southern lights, but only the penguins in Antarctic gets to see those or the mad scientist that live out there studying the ice !

I have always found the Northern Lights to be quite enchanting. This post and your photography definitely capture that feel. Thanks for sharing and keep up the great work. I am hoping to visit the North when i get back to Sweden.

You definitely should. From August to April should be possible to see the northern lights. Other months of the year it’s too light and it’s not visible.
I heard the best time to go is still around this time of the year, but going in autumn would be pretty sweet too and you wouldn’t have to freeze your ass off. It was minus 25 one evening when I was there. That was intense !

Yes, that Swedish cold is something this Texan is definitely not used to. Figuring out the Celsius vs Fahrenheit was crazy. When you get a minus over there it's way colder than a minus over here! Hahahaha Gonna try and get my license sorted out so i can take some road trips we i return. Worse case scenario a long train ride never hurt nobody! Thanks again for sharing!

My pleasure :) have an awesome day!

First time hunting for northern lights (revontulet in Finnish) and your first evening there and this is what you get, you guys got so lucky!

Yea tell me about it! We were quite naive going there taking it for granted that we would see it and then We got this awesome display of northern lights. Revontulet, this word sounds beautiful. In Swedish it’s a direct translation; norrsken. Not as cool as Revontulet.

What a spectacle to see something of this magnitude! WoW.... What a beauty and I'm glad to know that you and your wife had the advantage of seeing this marvel. Cheers ☺️

I was so thankful also ! I mean some people go there and it’s cloudy the whole time, you really need some luck as well ! Thanks for stopping by :)

These Northern Lights are beautiful. I have nevrr seen the Northern Lights before either, but at least you had the pleasure to experience this beauty this time.

Life is interesting sometimes, always looking so far these days to find something extraordinary when the country we are living in already has a lot to offer if we are just willing to look for it. Currently you’re living in Canada right, in the north parts of Canada I’m pretty sure you can see it too. Canada is really big though so it might still be far from your place.

Amazing and soo beautiful! I wish I could see them one day in real... and take photos 😄 Unbelievable Photography dear @dandesign86

Thank you ! On the way back to the airport in the bus there was a family from India that also went to Abisko to see it. They had been living in Sweden for two years already and this was their first vacation. They really liked it !

great shots. you were quite lucky to get such conditions

Thanks man ! Yea I really was, it definitely made the long trip worth it !