Insect Portrait Project: A long overdue update

Its been a while since I had an update to my Personal Photography Project.

You can check out this post for a more detailed explanation, but essentially my aim with this is to show you some pictures of invertebrates, and by using the simple black background you can appreciate how beautiful they are.

Previous Themes:

Bee-utiful Bees - Spiders - Butterflies - 'Green' - 'Moth Trap Finds' - Highlights - Caddisflies - Ladybirds - Hoverflies - Bugs

Hiveblog divider.png

I have posted intermittently on here about my personal project. The project isn't something I do for anything other then enjoyment and, because it is entirely for my benefit, I do it how I want and when I want. As a photographer, I believe we should all do something for sheer enjoyment. Not to please clients, to impress our audience, but purely for our own benefit.

Striped Woodlouse - Philoscia muscorum-9603-1PP.jpg
Striped Woodlouse - Philoscia muscorum

This is mine. I could care less what anyone else thinks about these, I could quite happily do this for hours and hours. That said I have neglected it recently... partly because real life has been shit (work/covid/etc). But mostly it has been down to equipment. My old laptop was rubbish.

That's being kind... my old laptop was fucking awful. Slow and clunky when I first bought it, and 4 years later it was practically useless. In its final days it struggled to open the internet, let alone do anything interesting. I hadn't been able to open photoshop or lightroom for 18 months. My partner let me borrow her newer PC, but that wasn't ideal.

I finally bit the bullet a few weeks ago, and bought a new laptop. I did my research this time and bought one that would actually do what I wanted... after spending 2 weeks setting it up how I want it, I am pleased to say the laptop was worth every penny (it was a LOT of pennies!)

Finally I could get back to work on my project, and about time to, I've got a lot of pictures to work through

edit1.png

Each folder features a different species of insect or invertebrate. The aim is to get a nice clear closeup of image of as many species I can find. I especially want a shot to resemble a studio shoot, not just a generic outdoors shot.

edit2.png

The whole point of the clean background is to isolate the indvidual insect on its own with no distracting background. In this way I hope to show that even small invertebrates are just as beautiful, and just as extraordinary as any other group of wildlife

Five Spot Club Horn Wasp-8346-1PP.jpg
Five Spot Club Horn Wasp - Sapyga quinquepunctata

There is nothing wrong with good macro wildlife photography, and indeed there are many fantastic images of insects all over the internet. I just really like the effect the clean background gives. Besides, I only know of a few photographers doing this kind of work, and I enjoy doing something different to the masses.

Here are a few more I have finally managed to complete:

Elephant Hawkmoth-8651PP.jpg
Elephant Hawkmoth - Deilephila elpenor

Small Wasp-8672-1PP.jpg
Small wasp (not ID'd yet!)

Privet Hawkmoth cat-2-1PP.jpg
Privet Hawkmoth caterpillar - Sphinx ligustri

I don't expect everyone to understand why I do these... and that isn't the point, I do this for the sheer joy of it, a way to experiment and explore push myself as a photographer

So for those who aren't bothered... thats totally fine, I won't take offence.

And for those few who actually find this interesting, rest assured that with my shiny new laptop there will be lots more of these images appearing in the not too distant future!

Early Thorn-3PP.jpg
Early Thorn - Selenia dentaria


While in my care, all individuals are looked after, and after Photographs have been taken, they are all released safely outside.

All names of species have been checked via Wikispecies

Hiveblog divider.png

Thank you for reading, I hope you found it interesting.

If you have any thoughts or opinions on this article then I'd love to see your comments.
And if you really like the content then maybe you would like to upvote or re-hive it.

logofooter.JPG

All Photos taken by @dannewton unless otherwise stated.
Check out my website for more of my work.

500px - Redbubble

Hiveblog divider.png

Sort:  

Hi @dannewton,
Thank you for participating in the #teamuk curated tag. We have upvoted your quality content.
For more information visit our discord https://discord.gg/8CVx2Am

these are shit hot dan...

I don't know what shit hot means but i agree with Rich! hahahah These are some incredible shots. Glad you are doing this your way... looks like it's working.

Oh this is insane quality, loved them. Especially the isopod, I had an isopod pet for years (well she had companions too but there was this special lady isopod I loved, I even named her "kokeneli". I kept her molts and herself in a little container but I never expected to become so attached with a little creature like her.

Really cool, no doubt the species on earth are going to keep on getting weirder due to climate change, so you'll have some cool things to photo!

Loved these and yay for a new laptop!