Photoshoot: Editing finished.

These are images taken from the recent Photoshoot involving a bunch of photographers and models running around a group of random deserted derelict buildings in the middle of nowhere (located on the A60 just outside Worksop)

Jade edit3.PNG

Last week I mentioned I had finally got the opportunity to finish editing this series of images. As previously mentioned, this was a TF shoot which means no money changes hands. Instead, its a mutual effort with the model and photographer working together to create interesting images for each persons portfolio of work. The Shoot happened a few weeks ago now and I was desperate to finally get these images sorted and returned to the models involved.

Cam Bat1245PP.jpg

First up was Jade with her partner Cam. Jade is the experienced model here, but it looks like she has roped her partner in to it, and it turns out he's a natural. I took a few shots of them together, and then I worked with them individually.

I got some images of Cam posing with a baseball bat which he had brought as a prop. There were a lot of interesting outfits that day, and an assortment of weapons were on show. I brought along a sword I own (its only a display version don't panic!). This has featured in a number of my shoots, partly because its a little bit different, but mostly because I think swords are cool. I did a post about pictures of people holding swords a couple of months ago.

Jade edit4.PNG

After Cam, I then started working with Jade. I handed her the sword and asked her to 'strike a pose' and it turns out she holds it surprisingly naturally. I did check if there was a history of Martial Arts, but apparently there was none.

Its one of the benefits of working with experienced models I guess!

Jade Sword9838PP.jpg

Jade Sword9840 landscape cropPP.jpg

I really love the pose in this one. Leaning towards the viewer, sword partly drawn while maintain clear eye contact. Editing wise I haven't needed to do a great deal of work to these images. I try not over-edit if I can help it. So most of these have had the levels (highlights and shadows) adjusted and then the colours tweaked a bit. I have chosen to slightly un-saturate the colours (make the colours less bright) to add the grungy apocalyptic feel.

We turned to the other side of the building for a different background, here featuring some of the awesome Graffiti on show

Jade Sword1253PP.jpg

Now that the edits are finished, I can now email all the models tomorrow and send them the images.

And then finally I can edit some different pictures! Keep an eye out for some 'landscapes at sunrise', and a 'morning spent looking for mushrooms' appearing here soon... watch this space!

Hiveblog divider.png

Thank you for reading, I hope you found it interesting.

If you have any thoughts or opinions on this article then I'd love to see your comments.
And if you really like the content then maybe you would like to upvote or re-hive it.

logofooter.JPG

All Photos taken by @dannewton unless otherwise stated.
Check out my website for more of my work.

Facebook - Instagram - 500px - Redbubble

Hiveblog divider.png

Sort:  

Hi @dannewton,
Thank you for participating in the #teamuk curated tag. We have upvoted your quality content.
For more information visit our discord https://discord.gg/8CVx2Am

Blimey, they both make perfect models in that I find them interesting to see. The locations sound like they could be interesting too.

Great photos.

Thanks man, it was a really cool location.

The buildings were linked to the old colliery nearby, I think these were the shower-rooms which the miners used after being down the pit... hence the smooth white tiles in some of these images.

It is due to be torn down at some point, but until then lots of local photographers use it for location shoots, or as a place to do lightpainting