Adventures In The North - Craster.

Well, it's finally here, my eagerly anticipated annual holiday, I've headed back up north to Northumberland and staying in a lovely cottage in Old Swarland.
When we got here yesterday, it was constant rain, although today the weather has picked up a bit so we decided to head out to a place called Craster which also has a lovely walk to Dunstanburgh Castle.


Craster is a small fishing village with one of the smallest harbours I have ever seen, what it is known for is the kipper, as you walk from the carpark you can smell the smoking house where they smoke the fish, if you are not sure what a kipper is, it's smoked herring. Walking through the streets and that lovely smell hitting your nostrels was very reminiscent of walking through Whitby.

After a coffee we had a walk up to the Dunstanburgh Castle as we has seen what Craster had to offer, there is no road to drive up to the castle and the nearest parking is in Craster, looking at the crowds it seems the place gets it's tourism for people that visit the castle.

It's about a 30 minute walk to the castle, I have to admit it must have been a massive castle in it's time, as the expanse of the walls and they height of the gatehouse is massive.

The light wasn't very good, and it only started to get a little better as we walked back, so I decided to get the drone up and get a couple of aerial shots.

When we got back to Craster we stopped at the cafe and I thought I'd try the Craster Kippers, I have to admit they were lovely, although it's not something I could eat all the time.

I'm heading over to Lindisfarne tomorrow, also known as Holy Island, it's a case of timing to get the right weather this week and I'm hoping to get that one epic shot at least.

I really hope you've enjoyed this blog and thanks for reading.

All the best :-)

Sort:  

The view from above is breath taking goshhh.

I'm sure you really enjoyed your annual vacation this time and I don't know what to say about this view it's so beautiful, everything looks so perfect and what I like the most is your shot from above and you can see some of the houses there

Wow mate! Excellent work

As always beauty. I don't stop following your posts. As if I was there with you)

I have to add this to the list aswell.

Definitely worth a visit if you get the chance 😊

I'll be posting quite a few castles. You should visit Carcassonne. Cheap flights. It will probably be my next post.