Finally Inside :-)

While I was on holiday, I had a walk over the sand dunes to St Pirans Oratory.
The rain held off while I was on the search for history, but as I got to the oratory, I was pleasantly surprised.

Built as far back as 1066, it became uncovered by the sand in the 1800's, and since then has been recovered and again uncovered, a large shell was built around the building, but lots of this has since fallen down,

What really did surprise me on the visit though was that this time around, there was no water in the Oratory, when I've been in years gone bye, there's been around a 3-4 feet of water settled inside the building and a big metal gate up around it to stop people getting inside.

The gate was wide open, and the water had gone, so I couldn't resist getting myself inside there.
The perspective is so much better inside, although you can see the supporting columns for the walls, I still love the old brickwork and still astonished that it is standing to this very day.

Seeing as the building is quite small, there's not much more to see, sadly the horrible breezeblock of the outer shell that was built gets in the way of any decent external shots, and the vandals have been around tagging the wall, just glad they didn't vandalise the actual oratory.

After the visit to the Oratory, I headed up to the church that is on the sand dunes, there's even less of that than the there is of the oratory, only a few low walls, and some steps, although the walls don't stand as high as they do in this building.

The shot above is from my 360 camera of the steps at St Pirans Church, I didn't really take many shots here as there's not much to see, although from the air would be a different story.

I really hope you've liked this little explore, and thanks for reading my blog.

All the best :-)

Sort:  

That looks pretty cool !!

Hello @darrenflinders The pictures are interesting I like the old vestige that tells a story see you soon

Hi @darrenflinders,
Thank you for participating in the #teamuk curated tag. We have upvoted your quality content.
For more information visit our discord https://discord.gg/8CVx2Am

Your content has been voted as a part of Encouragement program. Keep up the good work!

Use Ecency daily to boost your growth on platform!

Support Ecency
Vote for new Proposal
Delegate HP and earn more