My place to contemplate....

Sometimes I just like to get out of the house to reflect on things such as life choices etc, one of my favourite places to visit is Roche Abbey, which isn't too far from me, and now that it's back open for the summer, I'm happy I can visit the place again.

I just love it just how peaceful this place is, as you walk around you get the lovely sounds of birdsong, and the sound of a waterfall near by, the place is abundant in wildlife and on the last visit I saw around 5 or 6 buzzards, along other birds, I do love the sound of birdsong.


All the pictures in this post are from a video I'm making of the area, which I will post on here once finished, all the editing is sorted, I just need to sort out the sound and titles.

The abbey was founded in the 12 century as a monastry of the Cistercian order, modest in size compared to the likes of Rievaulx or Byland Abbey.

According to Wikipedia, it was built on land where Sherwood Forest stretched to and it states that Robin Hood had attended the Abbey. Just bear in mind, according to research Robin Hood was actually from Yorkshire, Loxley is mentioned and that is in Sheffield.

English Heritage now own the Abbey, if you visit be aware that there is a narrow single track cobbled road down to the Abbey and it does get a bit busy there from time to time, thankfully there are passing points and the road isn't that long. If you are an English Heritage member then entry is free, but if not it will cost £5.50 per adult.

I really hope you've enjoyed this post, shots done using a Samsung S21 5G mobile, an iPhone XR on a DJI OM6 Gimbal and a DJI Mini 4 Pro drone.

Thanks for reading :-)

All the best :-)

Sort:  

Incredible footage, I would never say it was taken on a phone. And here you immediately see a talented person who can shoot on a phone no worse than the best camera. And I looked at these frames and immediately remembered the game he Elder Scrolls IV: Oblivion))

What a perfect place for contemplation 💫

What a beautiful place man, it loks massive too!

Manually curated by ewkaw from the @qurator Team. Keep up the good work!